Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps Diversity
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Archives Reference Services Distance Services
Print, Copy, Scan IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 

UM Common Reading Experience 2023: Callings

    

Part 1: "Callings": In "Radical" New Book, StoryCorps Honors the Voices of Unsung U.S. Workers

Interviews or articles for each storyteller from the book

List source: With contributions from Polk State Libraries and Mount Saint Mary's University Libraries. 

Where to Read Callings

The 2023 UM Common Read is Callings 

by Dave Isay. 

 

How can you get a copy of the book?

1. All first year students received a copy of Callings during summer orientation.

2. UM Libraries has access to an electronic copy of Callings that can be read online or downloaded for a few days on a single device. Go to libraries.olemiss.edu and search for "Callings Dave Isay" in the OneSearch box. You will have to log in with your Ole Miss WebID and password to access the book. 

3. Inside the J.D. Williams Library, students may check out a RESERVE copy of Callings at the main desk on the 1st floor for 1 day. On Reserve for EDHE 105/305 are 2 copies of Callings, 2 copies of The A Game, and 1 copy of The Ole Miss Experience, under the instructor name: Melissa Dennis.

4. There is one print copy of the book in the main stacks of the library that students can check out using this call number: HD8072.I83 2017.

5. Finally, a copy of all Common Read titles (2011 - present) are available in Archives & Special Collections (but these can only be viewed inside the library).

If anyone needs help with finding books or finding other library materials for the Common Read, please email Melissa Dennis at mdennis@olemiss.edu