Search Guides
UM Common Reading Experience 2017: Just Mercy
One Search
Juvenile Justice Articles
-
Raise the AgeJustice Policy Institute.Published: March 7, 2017
-
Girls Serve Significantly Longer Sentences Than Boys in the Juvenile Justice System, Study ShowsUniversity of Texas at Austin. Sept. 22, 2015.
-
NC Teen Charged as Adult Faces 10 Years in Prison for Having Naked Photos of Himself and Teen GirlfriendStephen A. Crockett Jr. The Root. Sept. 8, 2015.
-
Pa. judge gets 28 years in "kids for cash" caseCBS News. February 18, 2011
Forensics Articles
-
Justice Department issues first standards for forensic expert testimonyWashington Post, June 2016.
-
Constitutional Regulation of Forensic EvidenceWashington and Lee Law Review; Lexington73.3 (Summer 2016): 1147-1187.
-
In a first, judge grants retrial solely on FBI hair ‘match’Washington Post, February 2016.
-
Science, technology, or the expert witness: What influences jurors’ judgments about forensic science testimony?Koehler, J. J., Schweitzer, N. J., Saks, M. J., & McQuiston, D. E. (2016). Psychology, Public Policy, And Law, 22(4), 401-413. doi:10.1037/law0000103
-
Contemporary Digital Forensic Investigations of Cloud and Mobile Applications
by
ISBN: 9780128053034Publication Date: 2016-10-12
Mental Health Articles
-
Examining the impact of proximate culpability mitigation in capital punishment sentencing recommendations: The influence of mental health mitigators.Gillespie, L.K., Smith, M.D., Bjerregaard, B. et al. Am J Crim Just (2014) 39: 698. doi:10.1007/s12103-014-9255-5
-
A Backward System of JusticeNew Statesman. 3/12/2007, Vol. 136 Issue 4835, p32-32
-
Care of the Mentally Ill in Prisons: Challenges and SolutionsAnasseril E. Daniel. Journal of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law Online December 2007, 35 (4) 406-410.
-
Mental Health Problems of Prison and Jail InmatesDoris James and Lauren Glaze. Bureau of Justice Statistics Special Report. September 2006.
Databases for Further Research
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Contains original, comprehensive reports and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is part of CQ Collections.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.
-
Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
-
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.
-
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowCollection of polling data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Death Penalty Articles
-
Death penalty gains new support from voters in several U.S. statesReuters. Wed Nov 9, 2016.
-
Death penalty: how public views differ around the worldThe Week. Mar 26, 2015
-
Capital punishment: A century of discontinuous debateJournal of Criminal Law & Criminology. Summer2010, Vol. 100 Issue 3, p643-689.
-
Death Penalty WalkingTime. 1/14/2008, Vol. 171 Issue 2, p38-41
-
Looking Deathworthy: Perceived Stereotypicality of Black Defendants Predicts Capital-Sentencing OutcomesJennifer L. Eberhardt, Paul G. Davies, Valerie J. Purdie-Vaughns and Sheri Lynn Johnson
Psychological Science. Vol. 17, No. 5 (May, 2006), pp. 383-386
Private Prisons
-
Why I am here matters: The effects of continuance and affective commitment on the organizational citizenship of private prison staffLambert, E., Kim, B., Hogan, N. et al. Secur J (2017) 30: 199. doi:10.1057/sj.2014.29
-
Private prisons back Trump and could see big payoffs with new policiesUSA Today, February 2017.
-
Justice Department says it will end use of private prisonsWashington Post, August 2016.