Library Guides: Counselor Education: Articles and Databases

Key Resources for Counseling Research

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier and most expansive database for searching psychological literature. Includes over 4 million records. Provided via the American Psychological Association.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal article database comprised primarily of peer-reviewed literature from the field of education.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Article database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and its affiliates. Includes approximately 200,000 records.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Social science article database with an emphasis in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

SAGE Premier
Use the SAGE Premier platform to search the full-text SAGE journal subscriptions available to you through the UM Libraries.

Additional Recommended Resources

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
Dissertations & Theses: University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities. Scopus does not test or support Mac/IoS Devices. Scopus recommends IE 8 or higher, Chrome or Firefox.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBTQ+ Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
Ebook Central Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of cross-referenced, full-text searchable e-books focusing on Psychology and Social Work.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education Online This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Chronicle of Higher Education, a primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

UM Access
Follow these steps to create a FREE account with the chronicle.com using your Ole Miss email address.

APA - 7th Edition

APA - Style & Grammar
Resources directly from the American Psychological Association.
APA - Tutorials & Webinars
more...less...
Additional guidance from APA
APA - OWL Purdue
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) resources for APA 7th edition

Research & Instruction Librarian

Ally Watkins

Email Me

Subjects: Education

Search Guides

Counselor Education

SAGE Research Methods

Key Resources for Counseling Research

Additional Recommended Resources

Chronicle of Higher Education

APA - 7th Edition

Research & Instruction Librarian