CJ 322: Criminal Justice Communications
Head of Research and Instruction & Associate Professor
More CJ Guides
-
Criminal Justice Subject GuideThe starting point for basic CJ research in addition to nuanced topics and searches related to criminal justice.
-
Homeland Security Subject GuideThe Homeland Security Essentials page is the starting point for students looking for reliable resources written by experts in homeland security research.
-
Criminal Justice on the WebThis guide includes websites from government agencies related to research in criminal justice
-
Topics in Criminal JusticeThese pages are intended to inspire student research by presenting selected academic resources on topics in Criminal Justice.
-
CJ 100 Library GuideA guide to assist beginning criminal justice researchers.
Library CJ Databases
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts is the leading bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
-
Global Terrorism DatabaseThe Global Terrorism Database™ (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2020 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 200,000 cases
-
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Access to the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is available free of charge, but access to some content requires that individuals create an account.
-
Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
-
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.
-
ProQuest Central: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.
Useful Websites
-
Crime/Law Enforcement StatsThe Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930.
-
Legal Information InstituteCreated by Cornell University Law School
-
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency PreventionThe Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, Public Law 93–415, as amended, established the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) to support local and state efforts to prevent delinquency and improve juvenile justice systems.
-
US Bureau of Justice StatisticsThe Bureau, a part of the US Department of Justice, collects, analyzes, and publishes information on crime and the justice system.