Library Guides: Resources on the American Civil War: Secondary Sources

Librarian

Assistant Professor, Scholar Support and Data Services

Email Me

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Chat

Databases of Secondary Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This the best place to find scholarly articles on the Civil War. Use the advanced search to limit your date range to 1861 - 1865 to avoid false hits.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This has biographical sketches, video, articles and books.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.

Books

The library catalog is the best tool to identify books in the J.D. Williams Library. Books on the Civil War are usually located in the E call numbers.

See also the Civil War bibliography from the Library of Congress for a list of many relevant books.

WorldCat

WorldCat can be used to identify resources available outside of the J.D. Williams Library.

InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan to request materials that the J.D. Williams Library does not own. Use your UM WebID and password to log into your ILL account.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>