This subject guide contains information on Mississippi and Mississippians at war, excluding the Civil War. This particular page features a list of manuscript collections on the subject.
Thomas G. Abernethy Collection. 1940-1970. Contains the papers of United States Congressman Thomas G. Abernethy who served as a representative of the 4th Mississippi District from 1943-1953 and the 1st Mississippi District from 1953-1973. Included in the collection: correspondence, reports and legal documents concerning various governmental agencies from 1943-1952, Camp Shelby, and numerous legislative documents from 1943-1956. The manuscripts in this collection would be useful for researching governmental policy and life on the homefront during World War II (444 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Allan Boyce Adams Collection. This collection contains the World War I correspondence from Allan Boyce Adams, a member of the 42nd Rainbow Division. Most of Adams' correspondence is with his mother, Evie Lowrey Adams in Claremont, Mississippi. Writing from his stations in France and Germany, Adams offers insight into soldier morale, training, weather conditions, medical care, and the gratitude extended to soldiers by local citizens (3 boxes). Also available as a digital collection.
Jennie and Lucia Adams Collection. 1845-1925. Contains correspondence between Jennie Adams, Lucia Adams, Boyce Adams, Frank Black, and Mrs. L.E. Bobo during the Spanish-American War and World War I. In addition, the collection includes photographs and miscellaneous cards from the World War I period. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00004/ (13 boxes).
Aldrich Collection. 1798-1972. Includes the letters of Ransom Aldrich to his friends and family while he was in the Army training during World War I. Ransom Aldrich served in Company E, Officer Training School, which was assigned to a Cavalry Company in the 81st Division, U.S. Army. In the late spring and early summer of 1918, he trained at Camp Nicholls in New Orleans, Louisiana; Camp Sevier in Greenville, South Carolina; and Camp Gordon in Atlanta, Georgia. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00006/ (25 boxes). The first six boxes of the collection are available as a digital collection.
Leroy Barry Allen Manuscript. This typed manuscript is the personal memoir of Mississippi Delta native Leroy Barry Allen (1892-1966) and details life on the homefront during both world wars. Location: Mississippi Authors Small Manuscripts (1 folder).
Beckwith/Yerger Collection. 1869-1930. Family papers containing correspondence, financial documents, legal records, newspaper clippings, and ephemera from the World War I homefront (7 boxes).
"The Book of Gold." Eric A. Dawson, a Mississippi native and a University of Mississippi 1908 graduate, began this autograph album and scrapbook in 1918 in Pierrefitte, Lorraine, France. During World War I, Dawson served with the YMCA in its Foyers des Soldate (Soldiers Club), and he joined the Army in 1918, rising to the rank of sergeant in the Intelligence Corps. The book contains signatures, autograph sentiments, musical notation, peoms, drawings, political documents, photographs, and wartime ephemera produced by famous literary, political, and cultural figures such as Ezra Pound, Thomas Mann, Rudyard Kipling, William Faulkner, Winston Churchill, Marshall Foch, John Pershing, Douglas McArthur, Woodrow Wilson, W.C Handy, Cole porter, Igor Stravinsky, Irving Berlin, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Howard Chandler Christy, Henri Matisse, Albert Einstein, Sarah Bernhardt, Lillian Gish, Tallulah Bankhead, and Jack Dempsey (1 box).
Herschel Brickell Collection. 1920s-1950s. This collection contains letters and manuscript material from Herschel Brickell, native Mississippian and literary editor of the New York Evening Post. Included in the collection is Brickell's correspondence with famous writers during World War II, which provides a source for examining literary trends on the homefront. Finding aid available in Special Collections (61 boxes).
Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection. 1854-1937. Includes correspondence of James Fleming Jr. of Natchez, Mississippi who served in World War I (46 boxes).
Virginia B. Callon Collection. 1917-1973. Virginia Callon of Shelby, Mississippi, was married to Robert Callon, a veteran of World War I. Includes several military records related to his service and Virginia Callon's correspondence with the Veterans Administration over her widow's benefits after his death in 1944 (1 box).
Camp Shelby Collection. 1918-1972. Military trainng post established in Perry and Forest counties, Mississippi in 1917. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00061/ (1 box).
Grover H. Catt Collection. 1940-1945. Complete set of letters written between Grover H. Catt and Winnie (Bethea) Catt between 1940-1945. Letters span the period before their marriage in 1941 and excluding any time the two were able to live together throughout his military service. The collection contains code in letters; censored letters; information regarding conditions of the home front during the war; references to popular culture. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00695/ (16 boxes). A selection of photographs from the collection are available in a digital collection.
Lyda Russell Caughman Collection.1876-1980. Collection contains the correspondence of Lyda and Russell Caughman living in Cameron, South Carolina. Although most letters are written from Lyda to her father and two daughters in school at Newberry College in Newberry, South Carolina, there are some between Lyda and her husband. The accretion contains the letters of Flave Russell, a soldier stationed in California who saw military action in France. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00068/ (7 boxes).
Claude F. Clayton Collection. 1934-1969. Claude F. Clayton served as a judge in the U.S. District Court of Northern Mississippi (1958-67) and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (1967-69). The collection contains judicial files from his tenure on both courts. It also includes papers and memorabilia related to his thirty-plus years in the Mississippi National Guard where he retired as major general and commander of the 31st Infantry Division. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00738/ (44 boxes).
Ross A. Collins Collection. 1930s-1940s. Ross A. Collins represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1921 to 1935, 1937-1943. He chaired the House Subcommittee for War Department Appropriations. The collection includes a scrapbook containing photos, signatures, and original pen and ink political cartoons from the World War II era. Most of the photographs are of national and state politicians, some of the more recognizable images are of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Harry S. Truman, and Winston Churchill. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00082/ (2 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
"Commemorative Retreat Ceremony: World War II Weekend, April 8-9, 1994". Program contains descriptions of various exhibitions and scheduled events for the 1994 event, which was sponsored by the University of Mississippi, City of Oxford, Ole Miss Alumni Association, Oxford Tourist Council, Combined ROTC units, and the Class of 1944. Location: Small Manuscripts 94-1 (1 folder).
James J. Cooke Collection. 1968-2001. Correspondence and drafts of essays and publications of James J. Cooke, Professor Emeritus of History at UM. He wrote extensively on Modern European History, specifically the French Empire and World War I. Cooke served many years in the U.S. Army and participated in Desert Storm in Iraq. He retired from the Mississippi National Guard with the rank of Brigadier General in 1995 (10 boxes).
H.V. Cooper Collection. 1931-1966. H.V. Cooper worked as Superintendent of Schools in Vicksburg, Mississippi from 1932 until his retirement in 1960. Cooper worked as chief registrar for the local draft during World War II but did not serve on the board itself. Correspondence from that era offers a local perspective on the home front and includes letters from former students and friends in the diplomatic and military service. 2 boxes.
John L. Daniel Collection. 1938-1946. Letters written by John L. Daniel of Iuka, Mississippi to his wife. Daniel served in 597th Signal Battalion, Company C stationed at U.S. bases in Texas, Florida, and Camp Shelby, Mississippi. During World War II, he served in the Philippines and Occupied Japan. Includes some letters by Daniel's brother-in-law who served in the Navy in the Pacific Theater (5 boxes).
L. N. Dantzler Company. 1894-1948. One of the first chartered private corporations in the state of Mississippi, the L.N. Dantzler Comapny had mills located in the Moss Point-Gulfport, Mississippi area. World War I and II brought great profit to the company, which struggled prior to World War I because of initial loss of exports and prior to World War II because of losses sustained during the Great Depression. This collection contains correspondence, financial records, and related ledgers which document the patterns of growth, labor organization, reforestation, and distribution. Finding aid available in Special Collections (75 boxes and ledgers).
Daughters of the American Revolution, David Reese Chapter of Oxford, Mississippi Collection. 1899-present. Nearly complete set of minutes for the chapter (which began in 1899) as well as programs and reports (18 boxes).
Charles Dean Collection. 1830s-1980s. This collection contains correspondence, financial records, genealogical information, and manuscripts of a prominent Holly Springs, Mississippi family. Covering an extensive period of time, the collection includes correspondence, photos, ledgers, and ration stamps from World War I and World War II. The documents in this collection would aid in examining life on the homefront. Finding aid available in Special Collections (32 boxes).
Louis Dollarhide Collection. 1920-1996. Louis Dollarhide, an English professor at the University of Mississippi, maintained widespread correspondence with prominent authors, and thus provides insight into literary methods and interests during World War II (47 boxes).
John G. Douglas Collection. 1916-1975. Correspondence of John Gray Douglas to his parents and later his wife Violet Marshall Douglas, while he worked as a geologist in the oil fields of Venezuela. While there are more letters from World War II than from World War I, this collection of correspondence would be useful for research in familial relationships and the wartime oil economy (3 boxes).
Hindman Doxey. 1922. Photocopied typescript of Hindman Doxey's speech: "Address of Appreciation to the Colonial Dames at the Presentation of the Monument in Memory of the Boys Who Lost Their Lives During the War, [World War I]. Delivered at the University of Mississippi, April 6, 1922." Location: University Small Manuscripts/Speakers Box 1 (1 folder).
Doxey-Tate Collection. 1922-1994. Includes photocopy of address at Colonial Dames presentation of World War I monument at UM in 1922 and a photograph of the UM Circle on campus (1 box).
Duggan Speech. 1942. Address entitled, "Agriculture and War," given by I.W. Duggan, Director of the Southern Division of the Agricultural Adjustment Agency, on April 14, 1942, before a student forum at the University of Mississippi in Oxford, Mississippi. The speech pertains to American agriculture's role in the effort to fight World War II. Location: University Small Manuscripts/Speakers Box 1 (1 folder).
James O. Eastland Collection. 1941-1978. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate for a few months by appointment in 1941 and then from 1943 until his retirement in 1978. Includes files on military conflicts during that time span Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small selection of items from the collection are available as a digital collection.
James E. Edmonds Collection. 1886-1934. Correspondence, photographs, and miscellany of University of Mississippi graduate James E. Edmonds. The collection contains Edmonds' letters to his parents, fiance/wife and children, and some letters from his son and wife. While the exact capacity in which Edmonds was associated with the military during World War I is unclear, the collection does contain letters sent from military bases in Kentucky and Oklahoma (3 boxes). Selections are available as a digital collection.
Thomas R. Ethridge Letters. 1942-1945. Born in West Point, Mississippi and a UM alumnus, Etheridge served in the US Marine Corps, 4th Marine Division from 1941-1946. He participated in World War II battles in the Pacific at Roi-Namur, Saipan, Tinian, and Iwo Jima and retired as a Major. Collection contains letters Ethridge wrote to his family during the conflict (1 box).
Evans Collection. 1806-1832. Includes 1812 muster roll for 18th Regiment Louisiana Militia under command of Captain John Milliken.
Framed Illustrated Broadside. 1917. Soldier's memorial German-American War 1917 broadside published by the National Publishing Company, New Orleans, Louisiana. Lists the members and officers of Company C, Second Regiment, Mississippi Infantry from Lafayette County, which was also known as the "Lamar Rifles," a volunteer company in the Mississippi National Guard. Organized on June 4, 1917, the company was mustered into Federal service on August 5, 1917. Location: On display in Media Room of Archives & Special Collections.
Framed Items. Includes photograph of Iwo Jima Memorial (Item #109); World War I era group portrait of Co. f 152 Infantry at Camp Shelby, Mississippi (Item #428); 1945 group portrait of platoon Co. 7 at Camp Shelby, Mississippi (Item #429). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
French Armband/Postcards. Undated. c. World War II armband, "France D'Abord" [France First] and six postcards regarding military gifts from 1870 and World War I, written in French from a M. Lamdin to an unknown recipient. Location: Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).
David Galloway Manuscript. 1920s-1940s. Typed copy of an unpublished manuscript entitled, "From the Jungle to the Arctic." Galloway's autobiography discusses growing up in College Hill, Mississippi in the 1920s and 1930s and his tour of duty in World War II. Galloway served in the Pacific Theater in a See Bee construction battalion and took part in the invasion of Iwo Jima, where he was wounded by friendly fire. He remained in a Navy hospital until the Japanese surrender. Gift of David E. Galloway. Location: Small Manuscripts 91-2 (1 folder).
Tyrus C. Gibbs Sr. Collection. 1942-2008. Tyrus C. Gibbs Sr. served as a U.S. Air Force pilot during World War II. While flying over Belgium, his plane was shot down and he was taken by the German military as a prisoner of war. Collection contains copies of photographs, his POW record, and ephemera.
Ivey Gladin Photograph Collection. 1926-1990s. Photographs and negatives by a professional photographer in Helena, Arkansas. Ivey Gladden served in the Navy during World War II and the collection contains a series of images related to the American Legion from the 1940s through 1992. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Edwin Granberry Collection. 1900s-1960s. Correspondence, manuscripts, clippings, and miscellaneous material relating to Meridian, Mississippi native Edwin Phillips Granberry. Prior to his writing career, Granberry served with the United States Marines in World War I. A portion of this collection relates to that period.
H. Weston Lumber Company. 1841-1951. Owned and operated by the Weston family, the H. Weston Lumber Company was based in Logtown and operated along the Pearl River basin. The fortunes of the family were closely connected with the company's financial condition during the Great Depression and during/after World War II. This collection contains correspondence, financial records, related ledgers, and family papers that document the growth patterns, management practices, acquisitions, and timber estimates of the H. Weston Lumber Company and its subsidiary companies, including the Union Lumber Company (116 boxes and ledgers).
John C. Hall Papers. 1948. Unpublished manuscript by John C. Hall entitled, "You Are Drafted -- Period" which covers his wartime draft. A native of Nettleton, Mississippi, he was twice dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Army. Location: Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).
Hardwood Manufacturers Institute/Southern Hardwood Producers, Inc. Collection. This collection contains correspondence, pamphlets, bulletins, charts and reports of the Hardwood Manufacturers Institute- Southern Hardwood Producers, Inc. Of interest are the bulletins issued by the Southern Hardwood Industry War Committee which describes government regulations applicable to the lumber industry and federal lumber requirements during World War II, and the Southern Hardwood Producers, Inc. Governmental Regulations Series, which includes regulations issued by various governmental defense organizations, which affected the hardwood lumber industry (23 boxes).
Joe Hayes Poetry. 1943-1944. Two original, untitled poems written by Joe Hayes, a soldier stationed at Camp Van Dorn, Mississippi. Both poems relate to a soldier's life in camp. Location: Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (1 folder).
James Boyce Henderson Collection. 1897-1969. A native of Pontotoc County, Mississippi, served in the armed forces during the end of World War I, reaching the front lines only to have the armistice end the conflict (3 boxes).
Hill's Southern Almanac. 1919. Published in Virginia, this almanac seems to have served people in Virginia and North Carolina, as evidenced by the list of school, state, county, and judicial officials in the last pages. This almanac would be a good source for someone interested in World War I advertisements, specifically for War Savings Stamps. Other advertisements stress the homefront ideals of conservation and economic spending as well as classifieds looking to employ women and ineligible military men. Location: Small Manuscripts 78-13 (1 folder).
Graham R. Hodges Collection. 1810-1996. Included in this collection is the December 9, 1941 issue of the Providence, Rhode Island newspaper, The Evening Bulletin. Published only two days after the attack on Pearl Harbor, the issue chronicles Americans' shock, horror, and disbelief at the day's events (7 boxes).
Howry Family Collection. 1838-1981. Collection of mainly personal correspondence among members of the Charles B. Howry family with some essays, articles, diaries, and journals from various family members. Included in the collection is some of the correspondence of Elizabeth Butler Howry, who helped to organize the first entertainment circuit for U.S. troops during World War I. Gift of Mrs. Louise Howry McRae (6 boxes).
Harriet Jackson Collection. c.1941-1945. This collection contains a souvenir program for the American Legion Minstrels, Curtis E. Pass Post No. 37 of Water Valley, Mississippi with the names of local service men who died in 1918-1919; two poems about Flanders Fields; a ration book holder; and a Victory-Liberty Loan promotional. Finding aid available in Special Collections (5 boxes). See also University Small Manuscripts /Student Life Box 1 for folders on Harriet Davis Jackson.
Jiggits Collection. 1917-1923. This collection contains correspondence and scrapbook materials. For researchers investigating the homefront during World War I, the collection contains correspondence from 1917-1918 between Louis M. Jiggits, writing from Camp Perry, Ohio to his parents in Canton, Mississippi. It also contains a typed list of Aviation Examining Boards with Physical Examining Unit attached.
Daniel Rupert Johnson Collection. 1913-1921. This collection contains University of Mississippi literature, correspondence, military training tracts, and financial records of an Ole Miss student during World War I (1 box).
Felton M. Johnston Collection. 1925-1972. President Lyndon B. Johnson appointed Johnston to serve on the American Battle Monuments Commission, an independent federal agency which designs, builds, and maintains U.S. military cemeteries and memorials in foreign countries. Johnston served on the commission from 1965 to 1969, and his collection contains correspondence, reports, scrapbooks, and photographs related to this task (27 boxes).
Keesler News: The Official Publication Every Week for the Military Personnel of Keesler Air Force Base, Miss., a Base of the Air Training Command. July 12, 1952-September 24, 1953. A publication from the Biloxi, Mississippi air base. Location: Newspaper (Boxed).
Leavell Family Collection. This collection includes two of Marion Leavell's scrapbooks, which contain magazine and newspaper clippings of stories and images of American and European military personalities, war ruins, and the homefront; war time cartoons; and correspondence from World War I. The collection also contains I.P. Leavell's scrapbook, which is primarily concerned with David Lloyd George, who was the British Prime Minister during World War I, and contains clippings and images, poetry, and personal notes (1 box).
Will and Marjorie Lewis Collection. 1828-1908. Box 1, Folder 23 contains William Thompson's 1887 Mexican War survivor's pension (3 boxes).
Ligon Collection. 1941-1945. The Ligon Collection contains correspondence between Herschel Ligon, a soldier in the United States Army during World War II, and his wife, Wydell Lott Lignon of Columbia, Mississippi. Besides correspondence the collection also contains a photographic album of World War I era shots of Camp Shelby, Mississippi and San Juan, Puerto Rico. The correspondence runs from September 1941 to June 1942 and September 1943 to 1945 (2 boxes).
E. Wilson Lyon Collection. 1923-1974. Letters from UM graduate E. Wilson Lyon from his time as a Rhodes Scholar in Oxford, England from 1925 to 1928. During his travels in Europe he commented upon World War I memorials and the rise of fascism (3 boxes + 1 bound volume).
Map Collection. Includes several maps related to World War I in Europe and a reproduction of a map of the Battle of New Orleans in 1815.
McAlexander/Marshall County Collection. 1838-2009. Includes a research file on the Mexican War as it relates to Marshall County, Mississippi (23 boxes).
J.N. Merrill Diary. 1914-1915. This two volume diary of John N. Merrill details his tour as a colonel in the Persian Army during World War I. He was stationed both in Shiraz and near Tehran in present day Iran. Merrill discusses military life and battles during the First World War. Transcription available. Location: Small Manuscripts 95-4.
Mississippi Industries Collection. 1926-1999. This collection contains published reports, articles, and pamphlets of Mississippi's industrial mobilization and defense planning during World War II (7 boxes).
Mississippi Organizations Collection. Includes undated circulat from Mississippi Chapter of American Ex-Prisoners-of-War and 1950s material from State Veterans Affairs Commission (2 boxes).
Mississippi Periodicals Collection. 1921-1982. Includes "Mississippian's Quiet War in Vietnam" in Mid-South (27 March 1966) (6 boxes).
Mitchell Family Marshall County Collection. 1812-1984. Includes a photocopied 1812 list of the members of the Sixteenth Mississippi Territorial Regiment (7 boxes).
William Cowper Nelson Collection. 1843-1949. Virginia Nelson served in the Red Cross during World War I, and the collection contains correspondence and other related material from this era (11 boxes).
Newspapers (Boxed). Box 1 holds July-October 1952 issues of Keesler News from the Keesler Air Force Base in Biloxi, Mississippi. Box 28 contains 1945 Oxford Eagle "Victory in Europe" special edition. Box 65 includes an 11 March 1944 issue of Blood & Fire from Camp Van Dorn in Mississippi as well as a 29 June 1944 issue of The Reveille from Camp Shelby in Mississippi. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00335/ (75 boxes).
Thomas Reber Collection. 1830-1918. Contains correspondence and paperwork from World War I soldier Thomas Reber. The collection contains financial records, reports, and memos issued during the summer of 1918 from Camp Beauregard, Louisiana (4 boxes).
Kim Lacy Rogers Manuscript. 1996. Typed manuscript, "The Movement and Mobility: Federal Intervention and Political Power in the Mississippi Delta," by Kim Lacy Rogers. The manuscript details a brief history of the Mississippi Delta, including World War I and II, and includes interviews of African-Americans who lived in the region during that time. Location: Small Manuscripts 96-1 (1 folder).
Dr. and Mrs. Dunbar Rowland Collection. 1880s-1950s. Correspondence, photographs, biographical material, clippings, and other miscellany of Dr. Rowland Dunbar, director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History from 1902-1937 and his wife, Eron O. Rowland, a historian and author. The collection includes correspondence, journals, manuscripts, pamphlets, and photographs from the homefront during World War I and II. Finding aid available in Special Collections (2 boxes).
Eron O. Rowland Collection. 1899-1949. Correspondence of Eron O. Rowland, wife of Dunbar Rowland, the Director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History from 1902-1937. This collection includes family correspondence, photographs and manuscripts. Finding aid available in Special Collections (4 boxes).
Sesquicentennial Issue of the Daily Mississippian. October 27, 1995. Special issue of the Daily Mississippian devoted to the sesquicentennial history of the University of Mississippi. Articles of interest include a story on the Cuban War of 1894, a story concerning women's increasing roles and enrollment post-1941, and a picture of ROTC students in the 1930s. Location: University Small Manuscripts/Publications Box 3 Oversized (1 folder).
Sheet Music (Miscellaneous) Collection. 1846-1974. Includes 1858 "General Quitman's Grand March"; 1847 "General Scott's Grand Entree Quick Step"; 1846 "General Taylor's Grant March"; 1933 "Mississippi Legionnaires about Word War I; and 1942 "Victory Tide" (1 box).
Calvin R. Simmons. 1840-1992. The correspondence in this collection includes more than twenty letters written during World War II, most of which are between Emmeye and Doug Simmons. It also contains a Mississippi Memorial certificate and an American Legion Gold Star citation presented to the family of John Douglass Simmons III who died during World War II. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00412/ (24 boxes).
Skipwith Revolutionary War Collection. 1776-1783. Primarily consists of papers of Nathanael Greene, Major-General of the Continental Army during the American Revolution. Available online as a digital collection (2 boxes).
Small Manuscript 1979-5. Contains World War I era (1918-1919) editions of the newspapers The Stars and Stripes, New York Herald (Paris edition), Excelsior, Chicago Tribune (Paris edition), and Natchez Democrat.
"A Soldier's Guide to Jackson, Mississippi". 1941. Pamphlet produced with the support of the State Department of Archives & History Board of Development: Advertising & Industrial Division. This manuscript provides visiting soldiers with information on recreation and religious activities in Jackson, Mississippi. 1 folder. A cataloged item can be located in Special Collections at F348.J13 S63 1941
Soldier's Individual Pay Record Book. 1918-1919. Pay record book with entries made by Private Joseph W. Seynmour, an African-American soldier in Company C, of the 340th Labor Battalion. Seymour served as a teamster stationed in Gulfport, Mississippi (1 folder).
Speech Before the American Legion and American Legion Auxiliary. c. 1950. Found within The Gadget: United States'Naval Training Camp, Gulfport, Mississippi (1919 and cataloged in Special Collections as V474 G8 G2 1918). The speech addresses rehabilitation and the extension of benefits and training under public law for veterans of the Korean War; the voting power of veterans and their families; and plans for hospital and medical facilities for veterans. Location: Small Manuscripts 2001-2 (1 folder).
William Forbes Stearns Collection. 1841-1866. Papers of first University of Mississippi law professor William F. Stearns. Includes speech or editorial honoring local soldiers who served in the Mexican War (2 boxes).
Stone-Gaither Collection. 1884-1922. From Tupelo, Mississippi, Hubert Gaither trained at Camp Pike, Arkansas before serving in France during World War I. The collection contains correspondence between Gaither and his mother and sister (1 box).
George M. Street Collection. 1914-1985. Includes letters exchanged between University of Mississippi Dean Malcom R. Guess and his student Edward Lockard while the latter served in the U.S. Army during World War II. Lockard eventually died in action (Box 11) (28 boxes).
Hub Walker Collection. 1927-1953. Collection contains correspondence, photos, and a scrapbook of Hub Walker, a University of Mississippi student and a professional baseball player. Walker was a center fielder and played for the Nashville Volunteers and the Minneapolis Millers in the Minor League, and the Detroit Tigers and the Cincinnati Reds in the Major League. Walker's baseball career was interrupted by his service in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He spent his final year in Major League Baseball as a member of the 1945 Detroit Tigers, which captured the 1945 World Series. Also included is a notebook of World War II reminiscences (1 box).
We Also Serve: Armed Forces Edition. 1945. Pamphlet published to praise the efforts of African-American men and women during World War II. The publication contains photographs and articles about the contributions African American's made to the war effort. Catalogued: D810.N4 W43 1945.
Ralph Mitchell Weed Collection. Correspondence between a World War I soldier and his family in Winona, Mississippi. Weed trained in Louisiana for the United States Army and served in France as a corporal in the Thirty-eighth U.S. Infantry until May 1919. The collection offers a glimpse into warfare, military activities, and personal relationships during the First World War (1 box).
William M. Whittington Collection. 1897-1962. Collection of U.S. Representative William Whittington from Mississippi containing speeches, legislation, publications, Federal Agency Files, census records, and other material. Whittington represented the 3rd Legislative District in Mississippi from 1925-1951. The collection would be useful for researching Mississippi political activity during World War I and World War II (316 boxes). Patrons should provide at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
John Sharp Williams Collection. 1809-1923. Collection contains speeches, correspondence, manuscripts, and newspaper clippings of U.S. Senator John Sharp Williams of Mississippi and would be useful for researching political activities in the United States Senate during World War I. Items of interest include correspondence with Woodrow Wilson and Franklin D. Roosevelt concerning issues of national interest. Box 4, Folder 4 holds a lengthy account of Mississippi' military recruitment efforts to fill the state quota for the Spanish-American War. Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00480/ (11 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 916-7408 to specify requested material.
Women's Book Club of Oxford, Mississippi Collection. 1895-2009. Club founded in 1895 by Oxford women to discuss books and plan service projects, including the support of a French child who lost his father during World War I (11 boxes).
World War I Newspapers, 1918-1919. Original newspapers from World War I. Includes clippings from The Stars and Stripes, The New York Herald, Excelsior, The Chicago Tribune, and the Natchez Democrat. Location: Oversized Small Manuscripts 79-1.
World War II Memories: University of Mississippi Museums. Materials from the University Museum's World War II Exhibition. The collection contains correspondence between soldiers and the University of Mississippi's Dean of Men, as well as documents concerning the World War II monument built by the University of Mississippi Alumni Association.