Library Guides: Exercise Science: Graduate Student Resources

Main Library Chat

Graduate Floor - Mezzanine C

Data Science & Reproducibility Librarian

Savannah Kelly

Email Me

Contact:

slkelly@olemiss.edu

662-915-5877

Subjects: Pharmacy, Psychology

Library Hours

Library Hours
The J.D. Williams Library (main) and the Science Library hours are listed on this calendar.

Library Tutorials

Library Tutorials
Find step-by-step and video tutorials to help you navigate library databases
Zotero Citation Management Guide
Learn how to use Zotero to manage all of your citations.

Private Study Carrels

Graduate Study Carrels
Private study carrels (rooms with a desk, chair, and small bookshelf with a locking door) are available to currently enrolled graduate students. All carrels are located on the top floor of the library, the Graduate Student Floor: Mezzanine C.
Apply for a Study Carrel
Fill out an application for a study carrel. Carrels are in high demand and are often booked up early for the entire year. You may be notified that you are on a waitlist if all carrels are full.
Pay for Your Study Carrel
Use this link to pay for your carrel (or to renew your carrel each year) after you have received confirmation that you have received a carrel.

Library Resources

Find Your Personal Librarian
For every major at the university, there is a librarian assigned to help with collection support, research consultations, and instruction help. Book an appointment or email your librarian for help at any stage of the research process. We can't wait to work with you!
Predatory Publishing Resources
Predatory publishers come in many different shapes and sizes. From unsolicited e-mails to lack of peer review, predatory publishers look to entice researchers with quick and easy publishing solutions. This guide will provide tools and resources to help you determine which publishers to avoid.
Archives & Special Collections
The Department of Archives & Special Collections contains archival papers, photographs, films, and sound recordings related to Mississippi, the Blues, the University of Mississippi, and the American South. The four units within the department are General Special Collections, the Blues Archive, the Visual Collections, and the Modern Political Archive. Please schedule an appointment before visiting the Archives archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Government Documents
In 2018, our library received the "Best in the Nation" award for government documents. To find government information, search the UM Library Catalog or Government Documents Databases or Government Information Guides. A federal depository since 1883, the Library is the Regional Federal Depository for Mississippi and holds the largest federal documents collection in the state. It is also a Mississippi state documents depository. We receive all government publications distributed through the U.S. Federal Depository Library Program (Title 44, USC) and through the Mississippi State Depository Program.
AICPA Library
In 2017, AICPA Librarian, Dr. Royce Kurtz, received the "Lifetime Achievement" award from Accounting Historians for his work in preserving materials for AICPA. He is the only non-accountant to receive this award. The University of Mississippi Library provides access to the AICPA library collection via its online library catalog and the Digital Accounting Collection. Members of the AICPA may borrow books from the circulating collection. While only students and faculty at UM have direct access to the online databases and electronic journals, the AICPA Library staff will conduct searches in these products for AICPA members. Anyone may use the library catalog or eGrove to find AICPA collections.
IDEALab
This makerspace is located on the 1st floor of the library directly beneath Starbucks. It includes: Virtual Reality, 3D Printing, Poster Printing, Sewing Machines, Legos, Electronic Kits, Adobe Creative Cloud, and other hands-on materials. Please make appointments with Sarah Katherine Glass at idealab@lib.olemiss.edu
STUDIOone
Reserve this Video Recording Room or the Video Editing Suite by contacting Sarah Katherine Glass at idealab@lib.olemiss.edu as space is limited.
Online Video Collections
Use this guide to find video collections available at UM Libraries

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan services give graduate students access to books and articles not available in the University Libraries collections. This is a free service. Article requests are typically processed and received within 48 hours. Print book requests take longer because they are mailed, but e-books can be requested through ILL, if available.
Contact Interlibrary Loan
Call 662-915-5867 or stop by the West Circulation Desk (1st floor) 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F.
Request Articles and Books NOT TEXTBOOOKS
Sorry, but the library is unable to borrow required class textbooks through Interlibrary Loan.

Checking Out Books

You are allowed to check out as many library books as you want, but your loan period as a graduate student is 16 weeks. You can renew books up to 3 times online in your My Library Account. As a graduate student, you may check out books at the J.D. Williams Library and the Science library. (Note: The Science Library houses books with the following subjects: pharmacy, chemistry, biochemistry, and materials related to the natural products center). You may return books to either location as well as an outside "Book Drop" metal bin located on the corner of Dormitory Row North and Dormitory Row West (near Weir Hall). Please do not return videos or Interlibrary Loan materials to the book drop - always bring them to the library to check in.

eGrove Institutional Repository

eGrove
eGrove, the University of Mississippi’s Institutional Repository, is freely available to researchers worldwide. UM graduate students can choose to have their theses and dissertations uploaded into eGrove at no cost. Student organizations, such as the Grad Student Council, may also want to upload materials into eGrove. eGrove provides free online access to the intellectual output of researchers at the University of Mississippi, including: open educational resources, open access journals, theses and dissertations, university archives, data sets, images, conferences and symposia, scholarly papers, and articles.
UM Theses and Dissertations
Use this link to browse theses and dissertations from UM. If you would like to remove your work from eGrove, or embargo your content, please send an email to: egrove@olemiss.edu
How to Submit Research to eGrove
Full texts will need to be submitted. Note: you may choose to delay making the publication publicly visible to comply with publishers' embargos.
Frequently Asked Questions

Search Guides

Exercise Science