EDSE 447: Special Methods I - Social Studies
Google Scholar and Scholar Profiles
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
Use Google Profiles to see a list of researchers in the field of Social Science Education. Click on each person's name to see a list of scholarly articles they have published. See who the "top scholars" are in this field based on their publication record and how many other researcher are citing them in their works.
Social Science Education Google Profiles
Browzine
-
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.
Selected Databases for Social Science Education
-
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
-
ERIC (via Institute of Education Sciences) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
-
Tips for Searching ERICfrom VCU Libraries
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier and most expansive database for searching psychological literature. Includes over 4 million records. Provided via the American Psychological Association.
Films, Documentaries, Videos
- Academic Video Online @ Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to more than 63,000 videos. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video services for libraries that provides you an easy way to watch movies and documentaries whenever you want, on the convenience of your own device. The library does not subscribe to all of the titles available on Kanopy.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is an on-demand streaming video services for libraries that provides you an easy way to access educational videos, on the convenience of your own device. The library does not subscribe to all of the titles available on Films on Demand.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures is a streaming video platform for feature films. Only titles the library subscribes to are available.
- Nature Masterclasses On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Nature Masterclasses is a suite of training videos that covers all the steps of the research cycle. Topics include: design research, securing funding, experimenting and analysis, writing and publishing, sharing and disseminating, career development, and working with others. Individual accounts are required to access the videos, click on register in the top right corner of the resource to create an account using your @olemiss.edu or @go.olemiss.edu email address
Nature Masterclasses is provided through a partnership between the College of Liberal Arts, the Graduate School, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, the School of Applied Sciences, the School of Education, the School of Engineering, the School of Pharmacy, and the University of Mississippi Libraries.
Chronicle of Higher Education
-
Chronicle of Higher Education Online This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Chronicle of Higher Education, a primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
-
UM AccessFollow these steps to create a FREE account with the chronicle.com using your Ole Miss email address.