Using screencasting to promote database trials

About this guide

From October 1 through November 8, 2012, UM Libraries had a trial to the ARTStor Digital Library. The tutorials provided in this topic guide were designed to help patrons make the most of this interdisciplinary database.

An academic article about the making of these tutorials appeared in a 2013 issue of Journal of Electronic Resource Librarianship (vol. 25, no.4, 277-282). In 2014, the tutorials were migrated to YouTube to allow for close-captioning in compliance with accessibility standards.

How to access

During the database trial, ARTStor was available through the UM Libraries Database Trials page.

The resource is now available to authenticated UM users from our Databases page.

What is ARTStor?

ARTStor front page

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Link to ARTstor's FAQ

Using ARTStor: Tutorials

1. How to create an image group. VIDEO (3 min.)

2. Searching for images to keep in an image group.

  1. Art History: VIDEO (3 min.)
  2. Art (Studio): VIDEO (3 min.)
  3. Classics: VIDEO (4 min.)
  4. History (World War I): VIDEO (3 min.)
  5. Medieval Studies: VIDEO (3 min.)
  6. Religion (Islam): VIDEO (3 min.)
  7. Science (Cancer): VIDEO (3 min.)
  8. Social Issues (AIDS): VIDEO (3 min.)
  9. Bonus Features! VIDEO (2 min.)

3. What to do with your image group? VIDEO (3 min.)

Subject Guide

Michelle Emanuel's picture
Michelle Emanuel