Advertising Red Books

Step 1: Go to libraries.olemiss.edu.

Scroll past the image until you see the UM Libraries search box. At the bottom of the box, the third option from the left is "Databases." Click on "Databases." 

 

Step 2: The database A-Z page.

Now that you are on the database A-Z page, click on A and scroll down the list of "A" databases until you find Advertising Red Books.

 

Step 3: Search for a company, brand, or agency at the top of the page.

The search box is located at the top right of the page. 

 

Step 4: Type in a company, brand, or agency name and then select the wanted result from the list that appears below the search box.

 

Step 5: For this example, we will chose PepsiCo, Inc, the company.

Below the company description (for most companies) the report will contain the following sections: Agency Roster, Media Spend, Related Brands.

 

Step 6: The Agency Roster.

This section provides information on the Agency and the services they provide for the company's various brands. 

Step 7: The Media Spend Section.

The media spend section provides a rolling 12 month view of a company's estimated media spend. In the top corner of each figure, one or more additional figure options are available. 

The Media Mix  box provides the overview of each media spend category. Click on a media category in blue or click the red View Media Mix Breakdown button above the Media Mix label to expand all of the media categories. 

 

Step 8: Media spend by media category. 

There are six media categories: Broadcast, Print, Digital, Radio, Out of Home, and Digital - Search.

Each media category, like the previous figures, has multiple viewing options in the top right corner of each figure. 

Each broad category has sub-categories and each can be expanded by clicking the + symbol.

 

Step 9: Social Media and Online video in the Media Spend section.

There are two figures in this section, Social Media and Online Video. Each figure has various viewing options in the top right corner and above each figure in the top left  the default view is Spend with the option to also click on Impressions.

Step 10: The Related Brands Section.

In this section information on related brands can be found. The brands are hyperlinked and clicking one with take the user to information for that specific brand.

You are welcome to share any of this information with others. If you are a librarian or educator, you are welcome to use this guide and its contents for your own purposes.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.