Library Guides: University of Mississippi History: Home

WorldCat

Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0 license logo

All original content on this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please attribute as: "Content from University of Mississippi Libraries."

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Dissertations & Theses: University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.

Documenting the African American Experience at the University of Mississippi
Created and maintained by the African American Studies Department this collection contains both primary and secondary sources covering the history of African Americans and the University since 1848.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Users can access this resource as a guest or create a Social Explorer account.

Newspapers

20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- 20th-Century American Newspapers offers searchable digital editions of historically significant U.S. newspapers from 1923 forward.
Early American Newspapers, Series 6 This link opens in a new window
- Early American Newspapers, Series 6 includes more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
- Search selected American historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924.

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
New York Times, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (NYT) is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. This historical database offers downloadable PDF's from each issue published between 1851 and 2020.
Washington Post, 1877-2008 This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper founded in 1877. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C., and has a particular emphasis on national politics.
Chicago Defender, 1910 - 1975 This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond Chicago. This database offers downloadable PDFs from each issue in published for the entire run of the newspaper, from 1910 to 1975.

Contextualization Resource Guide
This guide compiles resources on the contextualization of monuments, buildings, and other locations on campus as well as the nationwide contextualization movement.

Ask at the main library reference desk for any assistance needed in locating microfilm or using microfilm readers.

Issues of The Mississippian between 1911 and 1968 are available on microfilm
Issues of The Daily Mississippian between 1968 and 2001 are available on microfilm
Special Collections has bound volumes of The Daily Mississippian between 2001 and 2010.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>