Library Guides: IMC 531: Consumer Research and Insights: Resources

Database Tutorials

Contact:

aesorey@olemiss.edu

(662) 915-7933

Subjects: Advertising, Business Administration, Economics, Government, Government Information, Journalism, Marketing & Demographics

Library Databases

Advertising Red Books via Winmo This link opens in a new window
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data from within the advertising industry.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Find analysis and graphic display of market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity within an industry.
Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Survey analysis and planning software that includes data from recent Simmons' national consumer studies.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Users can access this resource as a guest or create a Social Explorer account.
SRDS This link opens in a new window
Use to find advertising opportunities and rates by DMA; use Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions portion to analyze Nielsen's “My Best Segments” data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find quantitative data, statistics and related information.

Free Segmentation Tools

Claritas 360
Locate and discover market segments, consumer markets, and customer segmentation profiling.

Tapestry Segmentation PDF
This pdf gives a quick overview of Tapestry’s 14 LifeMode summary groups and 67 segments that describe US residential neighborhoods.

Tapestry Zip Look-up
Type in your ZIP Code to see demographic and lifestyle information about your neighborhood.

Article Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
An upgraded version of Communication and Mass Media. Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier and most expansive database for searching psychological literature. Includes over 4 million records. Provided via the American Psychological Association.

OWL at Purdue
APA Style and Grammar Guide
How to Recognize Plagiarism
Examples of how to properly paraphrase and cite a source by Indiana University Bloomington, School of Education.