This is the "Articles and Databases" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Mississippi Libraries Subject and Course Guides Header

Psychology  

Library resources for psychology
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/psychology Print Guide

Articles and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Improve your Keyword Searching

Narrow or broaden your terms:

Narrow: Instead of eating disorders, use anorexia nervosa or bulimia.

Broaden: instead of rats use rodents.

Use Boolean Operators:

· AND  (memory AND cognition: only articles with both words)

· OR  (memory OR cognition: all articles with either word)

· NOT (memory NOT cognition: articles on memory, excluding articles with the term cognition)

Descriptors:  Find alternate keywords in the list of “tags” or descriptors below the citation information for any article that is close to what you are looking for.

Thesaurus: Click on “thesaurus” in the  upper left corner. Use the thesaurus search box to find alternate and additional terminology.

Phrases: Use quotation marks around phrases (“body image”).

Truncation:  Use an asterisk (*) to find all the forms of a word. For example, type child* to search child or children. 

Wild Cards: Use ? in the middle of a word . The computer will search for all possible replacement letters. For example, wom?n will search woman and women.

Key Databases in Psychology

  • PsycINFO  
      
      Icon
    Premier source for articles in psychology. Provides access to articles in 2,450 scholarly journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Also includes books, book chapters, and dissertations.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection  
      
      Icon
    Indexes 575 full-text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals

Additional Databases with Psychology Content

  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities.
  • MEDLINE (via Ebsco)  
      
      Icon
  • PsycARTICLES  
      
      Icon
    Provides full-text coverage of 77 peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Indexed in PsycINFO.
  • ebrary Psychology and Social Work Collection  
      
      Icon
    Collection of ebooks on psychology, sociology, and social work.

Databases -- Biomedicine, Pharmaceuticals, Health

  • Biological Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    Collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
      Icon
    CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
  • Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy  
      
      Icon
    The definitive reference on all aspects of the science and practice of pharmacy.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Savannah L. Kelly
Contact Info
slkelly@olemiss.edu
Send Email
University of Mississippi Libraries Subject and Course Guides Footer
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip