Skip to main content

Online Learning Resources: Ask a Librarian

Subject Liaisons

Research and instruction resources and services are important to our University and our Library. We work with faculty to improve teaching and learning through information literacy instruction designed to help produce informed researchers at all levels both on our campuses and in our online classes. 

Research and instruction services are provided in person and remotely through telephone, email, or chat. Librarians also teach instruction sessions, give tours, and offer a number of workshops.  Subject liaisons are available to assist you with your research. If you have in depth questions or require more assistance please contact your Library Subject Liaison.

 

IDEALab

IDEAlab

The IDEAlab is a makerspace located in the J.D. Williams Library on the main campus of the University of Mississippi in Oxford, Mississippi. The IDEAlab is open to the campus community as well as the general public. This space is designed for collaborative meetings, hand-on learning, and creative problem solving. The IDEAlab includes the following:

  • Virtual Reality
  • A large format poster printer for academic projects
  • A TAZ 6 3-D Printer
  • Basic building tools for simple constructions
  • Sewing equipment for textiles
  • Legos
  • Electronic kits, tools and accessories including Arduino Unos, Raspberry Pis and Makey Makeys
  • Adobe Creative Cloud
  • An array of making materials including basic art supplies, knitting/crochet supplies, hand-sweing supplies and moret

 

Christina Streeter, Library Specialist – Facilities
Phone: 662-915-2024
Email: cstreet1@olemiss.edu

Room 113, 1st floor J.D. Williams Library, open: 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

 

 

Archives & Special Collections

The Department of Archives & Special Collections contains archival papers, photographs, films, and sound recordings related to Mississippi, the Blues, the University of Mississippi, and the American South. The four units within the department, General Special Collections, the Blues Archive, the Visual Collections, and the Modern Political Archive, are managed by four curators and a Library Specialist who assist numerous patrons with their research needs. They also give regular presentations on Mississippi’s history and culture.

Main Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

eGrove

eGrove, the University of Mississippi’s Institutional Repository, is freely available to researchers worldwide. Any University of Mississippi research unit, department, lab, center, institute, or organization is eligible to participate in eGrove. Student organizations are eligible with faculty sponsorship. Alumni and others closely affiliated with the university may request permission from the University Libraries to submit materials.

eGrove provides free online access to the intellectual output of researchers at the University of Mississippi, and promotes its dissemination in an archive. This may include, but is not limited to open educational resources, open access journals, theses and dissertations, university archives, data sets, images, conferences and symposia, scholarly papers and articles. eGrove contains materials selected by participating departments, schools, centers, and institutes at the University of Mississippi (UM) and is administered by UM Libraries.