Search Guides
UM Common Reading Experience 2015: The Education of a Lifetime
Robert Khayat -- Ole Miss Timeline
-
The investiture of Robert Conrad Khayat, Chancellor of the University of MississippiCall Number: LD3417.5 1996 SPECIAL COLLECTIONSPublication Date: April 11, 1996
-
-
A year in the national spotlight, The University of Mississippi : 2005-06 Chancellor's annual reportCall Number: LD3402 2006a SPECIAL COLLECTIONSPublication Date: 2006
-
Robert C. Khayat Law Center dedication ceremony byCall Number: KF292.M57 R634 2011 SPECIAL COLLECTIONSPublication Date: April 15, 2011
-
An evening of songs and stories: Charles Pittman and Robert Khayat byCall Number: M125 .E945 2010 SPECIAL COLLECTIONSPublication Date: 2010
-
At colleges in South, barriers keep falling.Reports on the election of the first black student president at the University of Mississippi, Oxford, which is the state's university with the most segregated history.
Fund Raising
-
$100-million gift will pay for campaign with colleges to fight illiteracy in Mississippi.Donation of money to establish the Barksdale Reading Institute at the University of Mississippi's Department of Education.
-
Donors Flock to University Center Linked to Senate Majority Leader.Focuses on financial support for the Trent Lott Leadership Institute at the University of Mississippi.
-
What are we giving the world? UM Foundation ReportUniversity Report on Philanthropy for the year ending June 30, 2006
-
Gift worth $60-million for U. of Mississippi.Chronicle of Higher Education. 9/26/97
Presidential Debate
Former UM Chancellors
-
The history of institutional advancement at the University of Mississippi from Chancellor John Davis Williams through Chancellor Robert Conrad Khayat : forty-six years of growth byCall Number: DissertationPublication Date: 2004
-
University of Mississippi chancellor says IHL offer unacceptableUniversity of Mississippi Chancellor Dan Jones said he could not move forward without the support of his governing board.
-
Uproar Highlights Pitfalls of Running Medical Center and University.The article discusses problems related to the governance of U.S. universities and their related medical centers.
Symbol of Controversy: Rebel Flag
-
Look Away, Dixie LandNack, William. "Look Away, Dixie Land." Sports Illustrated 87.18 (1997): 118.
-
Removing Confederate Symbols is a Step, but Changing a Campus Culture Can Take YearsMangan, Katherine. "Removing Confederate Symbols is a Step, but Changing a Campus Culture can Take Years." The Chronicle of Higher Education. June 25, 2015.
-
Richard N. Barrett, Plaintiff VS. Robert C. Khayat, et al., DefendantsBarrett v. Khayat. Civil Action No. 3:97cv211-B-A Vol. United States District Court For The Northern District Of Mississippi, Western Division, 1999.
-
The Confederate Battle Flag
by
Call Number: CR113.5 .C67 2005ISBN: 0674017226Publication Date: 2005-03-31
-
No Rebel Flag at Ole Miss GameOctober 3, 1997. Knoxville News Sentinel (TN) (Microfilm)
-
U. of Miss. Still Working to Drop Confederate FlagJuly 10, 1991. The Chronicle of Higher Education (Microfilm)
-
Ole Miss 'Stick Ban' Upheld by Federal CourtReports that federal judge Neal B. Biggers Jr. has upheld the right of the University of Mississippi to bar fans waving flags on sticks during football games at the Vaught-Hemingway Stadium.
-
The Final Refrains of `Dixie.'Reports on the changes at the University of Mississippi in the 1990s. Comments from the university's chancellor Robert C. Khayat; How racial issues are disappearing along with the Confederate flags; History of the university.
Symbol of Controversy: Mascot
-
University Of Mississippi Introduces New MascotThe University of Mississippi has retired its longtime mascot. That was back in 2003. But choosing a new mascot hasn't been easy. At long last, after multiple campaigns and campus votes, Ole Miss has a new face - the Rebel Black Bear.
-
University of Mississippi students vote to choose new mascotFeb. 24--OXFORD, Miss. -- University of Mississippi students voted Tuesday to seek a new mascot, leaving behind -- at least officially -- the controversial specter of Colonel Reb.
Race Relations and Ole Miss
-
OPINION: In Mississippi, all sing 'Dixie'Authors: Tutor, Phillip
Source: Anniston Star, The (AL). 11/07/2014. -
Dear Ole Miss: Minorities Are Done Being Haunted by Confederate Ghosts.Author: Mannie, Sierra
Source: Time.com. 2/25/2015 -
Here, race is never off the agendaFocuses on the dialogue on race taking place in Oxford, Mississippi after it was chosen in 1998 as one of the host towns for the President's Initiative on Race (PIR).
-
How a Southern College is Combatting its Racist History3:29 minute video featuring Dr. Chuck Ross and Dr. Don Cole from Ole Miss.
-
Ole Miss' evolution not easyAuthor: Dan Wolken
Source: USA Today. 10/02/2014.
Search for more articles, news, and books
Search Library Catalog
Databases for Further Research
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Artstor Digital Library is provided through a partnership between the Office of the Provost, School of Liberal Arts, Department of Art and Art History, and the University of Mississippi Libraries.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada - see America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
-
History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowComprehensive history reference database offering full text reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
Honors College & Phi Beta Kappa
William Winter Institute & Croft Institute
-
William Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliationestablished in 1999.
-
Making a Difference: A Simple RecipeWilliam Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliation Director Susan Glisson article in Reclaiming Children & Youth. Spring 2013.