Archives and Special Collections
J.D. Williams Library
P.O. Box 1848
University MS, 38655
Phone: (662) 915-1595
For This Page, Your Archive Contact Is
Jeannie Speck-Thompson, M.L.I.S
Email: jeannie@olemiss.edu
Vietnam War Turning Points
The following links listed by date and title of event may give context and guide your archival research.
August 7, 1964: Gulf of Tonkin Resolution
March 8, 1965: U.S. Marines Land in South Vietnam
January 30, 1968:Tet Offensive
February 27, 1968: CBS Broadcast
March 30, 1968: Johnson's Bombing Halt
November 3, 1969: President Nixon's Speech
December 1, 1969: First Lottery Draft Drawing
Mississippi Newspapers on Microfilm
The following boxes have been selected based on significant dates in the Vietnam War. For a complete list see the library guide to Mississippi Newspapers on Microfilm. It is linked in the title above.
Clarion Ledger (MS) Jackson
Box 440 August 1964, Box 447 March 1965, Box 480 January 1968, Box 481 February 1968, Box 482 March 1968, Box 502 November 1969, Box 503 December 1969, Box 590 June 1-June 15, 1971; Box 591 June 16-June 30, 1971; Box 693 April 16-April 30, 1975; Box 694 May 1-May 15, 1975.
The Daily Journal (MS) Tupelo
Box 128 July-September 1964, Box 131 April-June 1965, Box 143 January-February 1968, Box 144 March-April 1968.
The Jackson Advocate (MS) Jackson
May 27, 1961 -Dec. 26, 1965; Feb. 20, 1965-Dec.16, 1967; Jan. 6, 1968-Dec.31, 1968; January-December 1969; January-December 1970, January-December 1971, January-December 1972, January-December 1973.
The Oxford Eagle (MS) Oxford
Box 43 July 25-June 12, 1969; Box 46 April 15, 1971-Sept. 22, 1971; Box 54 Dec. 30, 1974-April 17, 1975, Box 57 April 18, 1975-Sept. 2, 1975.
The Mississippian (MS) University
Box 9 Vol. 53: Sept. 19, 1963-Aug. 18, 1964; Box 10 Vol. 54: Sept. 15, 1964-Aug. 17, 1965; Box 11 Vol. 55: Sept. 17, 1965-Aug. 17, 1966; Box 13 Vol. 57:Sept 16, 1967-Aug.10, 1968; Box 14 Vol. 58:Sep. 12, 1968-Aug. 14, 1969; Box 15 Vol. 58-2: Sep.11, 1969-Aug. 13, 1970; Box 16 Sep.9, 1970; Box 22 Aug. 12, 1971, Box 22 9/11/74-2/26/75.
Bound and Boxed (MS) Newspapers
Boxed Newspapers
Eastland Newspaper Collection, Box 75, is located in the archives' cataloged materials.
The City Bulletin, Box 21, is located in the archives' cataloged materials.
Bound Newspapers
The Mississippian is a University of Mississippi student newspaper, later renamed the Daily Mississippian.
The Sun-Sentinel is a Tallahatchie County Newspaper.
Citing Newspapers
Citing newspaper articles is similar to magazine articles. Shortened notes are used when referencing the same source more than once in a paper. The following examples of formatting citations for a print volume on microfilm and for an online volume are taken from Notes and Bibliography at The Chicago Manual of Style online.
Cite items within archival (boxed or bound) collections with the title or description of the item, date (day, month, year), Collection number or identifier, box number, folder number, Collection Name, Name of Repository, Location of Repository. URL if applicable.
Cite newspapers in notes on microforms with the addition of "microfilm" after the publication information and prior to the page number. Additional microform sheet and frame information may be used after the page number if applicable.
Note
Rebecca Mead, “The Prophet of Dystopia,” New Yorker, April 17, 2017, Microfilm, p.43.
Farhad Manjoo, “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera,” New York Times, March 8, 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Joseph Purcell, “A Map of the Southern Indian District of North America” [ca. 1772], MS 228, Ayer Collection, Newberry Library, Chicago.
Shortened Note
Mead, “Dystopia,” 43.
Manjoo, “Snap.”
Purcell, "Southern Indian District" Ayer Collection.
Bibliography
Mead, Rebecca. “The Prophet of Dystopia.” New Yorker, April 17, 2017.Microfilm.
Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Purcell, Joseph. “A Map of the Southern Indian District of North America” [ca. 1772], MS 228, Ayer Collection, Newberry Library, Chicago.
