METP 301: Capstone/Honors Thesis
Librarian
More Library Help
University of Mississippi Writing Center
-
Writing CenterWe offer free writing consultation services for UM students. Our highly trained peer consultants work alongside UM students on projects in all disciplines at any stage of the composition process. Our centers provide access to free one on one consultations, group workshops, and other writing focused resources. Our services are delivered face to face and in online platforms through our multiple campus locations in Oxford, Tupelo, and Southaven. We work to help UM students cultivate individualized strategies for becoming independent, effective, and confident writers.
Databases to find articles on your topic
-
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
-
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal article database covering topics in educational administration, educational leadership, educational management and educational research.
-
Education Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries.
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals
-
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowJournal article database comprised primarily of peer-reviewed literature from the field of education.
-
Dissertations & Theses: University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.
-
ProQuest Central: Education This link opens in a new window
This database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
-
One Search This link opens in a new windowUnified discovery service that searches the library catalog, article databases, electronic resources, digital collections and more from one search box.
Library Help
-
Interlibrary LoanEven though we have full-text access to millions of articles and books, if you need something we don't have, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Follow this link to see tutorials on how to use the free ILL services.
-
Citation HelpThe Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has examples for APA papers, in-text citations, references, and much more.
-
Zotero Citation ManagerUse this guide to learn how to create a FREE Zotero account that you can use to organize citations (especially useful when your paper requires more than 10 citations).
-
Library Skills Learning ModulesA series of modules designed to help users improve library skills such as narrowing topics, formulating research questions, keyword searches, critical thinking, and more.
Citation Help in OneSearch
Once you get a list of results from OneSearch (before you click and open the article), there is a way to have the computer create your citations for you. This sample shows books but the same feature is available for journal articles.
On the right side of the results, click the "quote marks" and you can choose your citation style (APA, MLA, etc.) from the drop-down menu.
This menu also appears if you click the "envelope," which will enable you to email the article and citation to yourself.
Always check machine-generated citations for accuracy!!!