Librarian
Databases for Counseling Research
-
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
-
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowJournal article database comprised primarily of peer-reviewed literature from the field of education.
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowArticle database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and its affiliates. Includes approximately 200,000 records.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier and most expansive database for searching psychological literature. Includes over 4 million records. Provided via the American Psychological Association.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowSocial science article database with an emphasis in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
-
ProQuest Central: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
-
Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowPlatform to search journals published by Sage. The library does not subscribe to all content available on Sage Online.
Videos
-
Counseling and Therapy in VideoPrepare your counseling students to make a difference with the best, most up-to-date applied training and research materials available. Materials are curated and developed to meet the educational and research needs of a variety of counseling curricula.
-
Psychotherapy.net Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Diverse compilation of high quality streaming training videos in the field of counseling and psychotherapy.
Psychotherapy.net Video Collection is provided through a partnership with the School of Education, Division of Outreach and Continuing Education, and the University of Mississippi Libraries.
-
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video services for libraries that provides you an easy way to watch movies and documentaries whenever you want, on the convenience of your own device. The library does not subscribe to all of the titles available on Kanopy.
Library Resources
Use ILL for FREE to request any article or book that UM Libraries does not own. Articles are always in PDF form, sent within 24-48 hours. Books (especially print) may take up to 2 weeks.
Join us! Most workshops require registration.
Contact the IDEALab (located on the 1st floor of the library) to set up a 3D print, poster print, borrow a MacBook, use our VR, make buttons, and more.
Blackboard Class: Library Skills
Log into Blackboard and enroll in our class: Library Skills. Filled with 7 critical thinking and information literacy self-paced modules and quizzes.
Don't Forget About These!
-
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.
-
eGrove Institutional RepositoryThe repository is a service of the University of Mississippi libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
-
Nature Masterclasses On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Nature Masterclasses is a suite of training videos that covers all the steps of the research cycle. Topics include: design research, securing funding, experimenting and analysis, writing and publishing, sharing and disseminating, career development, and working with others. Individual accounts are required to access the videos, click on register in the top right corner of the resource to create an account using your @olemiss.edu or @go.olemiss.edu email address
Nature Masterclasses is provided through a partnership between the College of Liberal Arts, Office of Research and Economic Development, School of Applied Sciences, School of Education, School of Engineering, School of Pharmacy, and the University of Mississippi Libraries.