Skip to main content

Religion (Archives): Home

Librarian Contact

Leigh McWhite
Political Papers Archivist and Associate Professor
slmcwhit@olemiss.edu

Introduction

The Archives & Special Collections material identified in this subject guide pertains largely to religion in Mississippi, although more general material related to race relations and religion appears as do pre-1850 volumes on the topic.  Items date from the sixteenth century to the present.  The subject guide is divided into five categories:

Manuscript Collections describes collections possessing content on religious topics.

Rare Volumes lists a selection of general religious works published prior to 1850, includes scripture in foreign languages and medieval texts. 

Primary Source Publications lists cataloged holdings of autobiographies, historic works of theology, or historic publications with religious data.

Secondary Source Publications outlines histories of religions or denominations within Mississippi; histories of specific churches in the state; biographies of religious leaders and individuals; and other disciplinary approaches to the study of religion. 

Media holds a list of cataloged audio and audiovisual recordings on the topic of religion.  It includes music, comedic stories, and oral histories.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library

Phone: 662-915-7408
Fax: 662-915-5734
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)
Ask Special Collections

Related Library Links:

For assistance with non-archival resources, see the main library's Religion Subject Guide

Online tutorials describe the differences between primary and secondary resources as well as finding and using the Archives and Special Collections

Medieval Manuscript Fragments - The medieval manuscript fragments housed at the University of Mississippi focus heavily on the works of Priscian and Titus Livy as well as classic Christian texts. Ten fragments have been digitized and made available online.

The library has created a searchable database on its Mississippi Newspaper holdings.  Search by text, year, city, or county to find newspaper titles, time span in the library's possession, and a link to the catalog record.