Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps Diversity
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Archives Reference Services Distance Services
Print, Copy, Scan IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 
Skip to Main Content

RefWorks Transition: Exporting from RefWorks

How to transition out of RefWorks citation management tool.

What is Happening to RefWorks?

The University of Mississippi's RefWorks subscription will not be renewed for 2017. After careful consideration, we determined the high cost of the subscription can no longer be justified when there are free or low cost citation management tools available that are as good or better than RefWorks. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause current RefWorks users.  UM Libraries will be supporting the use of the open source program called Zotero which can be downloaded for free. Zotero is compatible with Firefox, Safari, or Chrome browsers but not with Internet Explorer. Zotero also installs in Firefox as an Add-on or plugin.The following information in this Library Guide will help you transfer your RefWorks references into Zotero.  

                                                           PLEASE BACKUP AND/OR EXPORT YOUR FILES BEFORE FEBRUARY 1, 2017. 

Note:  You also have the option to subscribe to RefWorks as an individual.  Information on pricing can be found on the RefWorks website.

How to Export Your RefWorks file into Zotero

Zotero is a free, open-source web-based tool for managing citations and pdfs, and creating bibliographies. It is highly customizable with a robust user community, and works online and on your desktop.

If you do not have separate folders you can export all of your references in one file.  If you have folders and wish to retain them in Zotero or another Citation Management program follow the instructions below for "Exporting RefWorks Reference a Folder at a Time."  These instructions assume that you have already installed the Zotero plugin on your personal computer. 

To Export your entire RefWorks file all at once into Zotero:

  1. Go to RefWorks using the portal "Login using myOleMiss account." Use your WebID and password to continue. 
  2. Make sure you are viewing "All References" to export everything at one time. If you would like to export one folder at a time, open a RefWorks folder and proceed 
  3. Click on References from the menu
  4. Choose Export
  5. "All in List" should be checked (if not Check)
  6. Select an Export Format. The default "Bibliographic Software (Endnote, Reference Manger, Procite)" should appear (Zotero will import this format)
  7. If you need another format to Export, choose from list
  8. Click on Export References button
  9. Popup processing window will appear as Export is performed
  10. The popup processing window at the bottom of the page will say "Completed" when the Export is finished
  11. When the Export is complete, open the pop up download prompt, or click in the processing window to open the file. You may also choose to have the file sent to your email 
  12. When you open the file, you will notice that it is a plain text file in your browser as attachments are not exported
  13. In your browser, click on File and Save to save to the file to your computer OR right click on the browser screen and choose "save as" and save to your computer. You may want to change the name of the file from "default" to RefWorks citations or anything else, but if you don't now you will have the option to change the name later. 
  14. Open Zotero and download to your computer. There are separate download instructions for Firefox users and for Chrome and Safari users (standalone version). 
  15. After downloading Zotero to your computer, click on the Settings button (gear or sprocket icon)
  16. Choose Import
  17. Find your saved file on your computer and click Open
  18. Your file of citations from RefWorks will import into Zotero
  19. Right click on the imported file "default.aspx" unless you changed the title
  20. Choose Rename Collection
  21. Rename the file to correspond to RefWorks folders or a new title.

Any RefWorks field content without a corresponding field in Zotero will be stored in the Zotero Note field.

Keeping RefWorks with a Personal Subscription

If you still want to continue using RefWorks, you may purchase your own individual license for $100 a year and transfer your library to a new account. 

To obtain your own individual license:

  1. On the RefWorks login page, choose "Sign Up for a New Account"
  2. Choose to create a 30 day trial WITHOUT a Group Code (Not associated with institution). You will need to use a different login name, as you are creating a new account.
  3. Once you have created the new account, log out and sign in to your old account through the "Login Using myOleMiss Account" blue box portal. 
  4. Select Tools, Backup/Restore, and make a backup of your database. You will be prompted to save a .zip or .rwb file to your computer. In your new account, select Tools, Backup/Restore, and use the restore option to add the .zip or .rwb file to your new account. You can also export your reference data in several formats using one of RefWorks Export options. 

 

Main Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Transition Help

If you need advice or help with any part of this transition, please contact Savannah Kelly at slkelly@olemiss.edu or 662-915-5877 or Melissa Dennis at mdennis@olemiss.edu or 662-915-5861.

In addition to personal help, the Library will offer 2 workshops on using Zotero this Spring:

 

Transitioning from RefWorks to Zotero

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

4:00 - 5:00 p.m. Room 106D

 

Zotero Basics

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

4:00 - 5:00 p.m. Room 106D