Jerry Boone Collection. Records of Dr. Jerry Boone's service from 1998 to 2004 as court-appointed monitor for the Ayers lawsuit on desegregation and disparate state funding of Mississippi higher education institutions. 5 boxes. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Donna Bailey Dye/Charles Noyes Collection. 1963-2011. Correspondence, news clippings, and ephemera from Dr. Charles E. Noyes, UM professor of English, to his former student Donna Bess Bailey Dye and her husband Brad Dye (Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi 1980-1992). 1 box.
Bill Miles Collection. 1962-2011. The voters of Itawamba and Monroe counties elected Bill Miles to the Mississippi House of Representatives from 1996 where he served for the next twelve years, in time becoming chair of the powerful Transportation Committee. 7 boxes. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs are available in the digital collection.
Mississippi Politics Collection. Contains an assortment of miscellaneous items related to Mississippi politics and politicians dating from the 1930s through the present. 4 boxes. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collectionsat (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Mount Vernon Ladies Association of the Union Collection. Promotional items dating from 2007-2010 for special events occurring at George Washington's plantation home, Mount Vernon. 1 box.
Nash & Taggart Collection. Contains audio recordings of oral histories conducted by Jere Nash and Andy Taggart in the process of writing their book Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 and the subsequent edition Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2008. Interviewees include governors, members of Congress, state legislators, state officials, state party leaders, political candidates, staff members, lawyers, and lobbyists. The subjects of the discussions range from state political parties, national and state elections, individual politicians, educational reform, the state highway program, gambling, tort reform, and reapportionment. Available as a digital collection.
Presidential Debate Collection. Includes university records, press releases, correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, ephemera associated with the 26 September 2008 presidential debate on the University of Mississippi campus. 6 boxes. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collectionsat (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs and recordings from the collection are available as a digital collection.
State Documents Vertical Files. Miscellaneous publications and handouts produced by Mississippi government agencies dating from 1961 to 2009. 1 box.