Last Updated: Aug 8, 2014
This page is intended as a starting point for the novice researcher who is seeking high quality information related to PHILOSOPHY.
If you need more specific or in-depth advice, or if you have some questions about this guide, and you are faculty, staff or a student, contact Christina Torbert or use Ask-A-Librarian.
This box will search all of your Credo Reference Philosophy titles.
- Philosophy Compass
Contains peer-reviewed, state-of-the art survey articles on current research from across the discipline. Articles also provide reference-linked bibliographies to specialist literature. Access restrictions may apply.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. They monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy professors from many different locations edit and maintain this online encyclopedia. The entries are signed and they are written by philosophy PhD students or professors. This resource is a great way to become familiar with a new philosophical topic.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford invites the top people in each field of philosophy to write entries for this encyclopedia. The search engine is a bit strange so it is best to simply browse topics in the alphabetical list.
- Perseus Project
This website has online, searchable versions of all major classical texts in translation and in the original languages.