Skip to main content

William Faulkner (Archives): Private Collections

Private and Institutional Collections

Private Collections

The University of Mississippi Archives and Special Collections has received materials related to various significant Faulkner collectors. The materials in these collections help document collecting techniques and histories while providing insight into Faulkner's cultural significance.

Wynn Collection of Faulkner Collecting: correspondence, journal articles and newspaper clippings about Faulkner. The collection documents the history of the Faulkner collecting interests of the Wynn family over a period of time from the 1950s through the 1970s.

Kenneth Godfrey Collection: consists of Kenneth Godfrey's correspondence as Sydney S. Alberts is building his William Faulkner collection and compiling a Faulkner bibliography.

Carl Petersen Collection: primarily, the collection contains correspondence between Petersen and major booksellers and collectors as well as documentation about Petersen's collection. Also contains materials related to other collections as well as auction information.

A. Johnston Books: collection of two books from A. Johnston, burned in the Phil Stone's 1942 Oxford house fire. Includes a First Printing of The Hamlet by Faulkner


Institutional Collections

Faulkner Small Manuscripts
Series XXV: The University of Mississippi and William Faulkner includes pamphlets, invitations and catalogues regarding Faulkner events at the University of Mississippi, subsequent to Faulkner's death.
Series XXVI: The University of Mississippi William Faulkner Collection Correspondence contains correspondence, dated 1959-1968, regarding Faulkner holdings at the University's Mississippi Collection, later Archives and Special Collections.
Series XXVII: William Faulkner and other Universities and Associations includes exhibit catalogues, invitations and programs for Faulkner events at other institutions.
Series XXVIII: Faulkner Historic Sites concerns Rowan Oak primarily; however, the series contains a packet concerning Faulkner's Greenfield Farm.
Series XXIX: Collection Catalogues contains pamphlets and promotional materials concerning the University of Virginia's Faulkner Collection, Yoknapatawpha Press and Hardin-Simmons University.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library

Phone: 662-915-7408
Fax: 662-915-5734
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)
Ask Special Collections

Related Links

The University of Mississippi Museums maintain Rowan Oak, William Faulkner's Home

Various Archives & Special Collections Past Exhibits and Publications examine Faulkner

For other University of Mississippi Archives & Special Collections Literary Collections, see our Literary Subject Guide