Skip to main content

William Faulkner (Archives): Images

Visual Collections

Images in these collections document William Faulkner's life and the region that inspired much of his work. For information on obtaining copies of the images within these collections for personal or professional use, contact the Curator of Visual Collections.

Cofield Collection: local studio photographer "Colonel" J.R. Cofield recorded Lafayette County from 1928 until 1973. This collection includes photographs of William Faulkner, his family, the town of Oxford, Lafayette County, and photographs taken for the University of Mississippi Yearbook.

Martin J. Dain Collection: photographs by Martin J. Dain of Faulkner, his funeral, Rowan Oak and Lafayette county. Many of these photographs were published in: Dain, Martin J. and Tom Rankin. Faulkner's world : the photographs of Martin J. Dain. Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 1997.

Phil Mullens Collection: sixty images including Faulkner and his family, the filming of a Ford Foundation documentary on Faulkner, and the filming of Intruder in the Dust in Oxford.

Faulkner Miscellaneous Images Collection: collection of Faulkner images from assorted photographers.

Framed Items: collection contains prints, photographs, posters, paintings and miscellaneous framed items concerning Faulkner, Yoknapatawpha County and related subjects.

Paul Flowers Collection: includes images of Faulkner and his family. Images now housed in Collection Photographs

Bern Keating Collection
Large collection of assorted subjects, including William Faulkner. This collection is not fully processed.

Cofield Albums: two albums containing images of William Faulkner, taken by Jack Cofield, as well as Faulkner related materials. Albums contain black-and-white prints, typescript and clippings on laminated pages.

Dorothy Crosby Scrapbooks: collection of two scrapbooks detailing the Dorothy Crosby Appreciation Day, 3 August 1980, compiled by Dorothy H. Crosby. The scrapbooks contain photographs, clippings, programs, biographical information, invitations, invitation list for the Appreciation Day and transcripts of letters. The photographs in these scrapbooks depict Rowan Oak, the Crosby Family, Chancellor and Mrs. Fortune, and the events related to the Dorothy Crosby Appreciation Day.

University Archives Photographs
UAB14F42-48 contains images of Rowan Oak as a National Literary Landmark, 17 April 1993

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library

Phone: 662-915-7408
Fax: 662-915-5734
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)
Ask Special Collections

Martin J. Dain Collection, Special Collections