Skip to main content

William Faulkner (Archives): Cinematic & Theatrical

Cinematic and Theatrical Collections

Though known for his literary works, William Faulkner worked as a Hollywood screenwriter throughout the 1930s and 1940s. The materials below detail his work as a screenwriter as well as the cinematic and theatrical adaptations of Faulkner's literary works. 

Cataloged Items
Archives & Special Collections William Faulkner Authored A/V Material
Archives & Special Collections William Faulkner as-Subject A/V Materials

Bouchard Collection: consists of posters, lobby cards, press books, and other memorabilia of movies related to Mississippi created from 1937-2000, including Faulkner cinematic works.

Faulkner - Bacher Collection: correspondence between William Faulkner and William Bacher concerning turning their "modern Christ story", which Faulkner developed as A Fable, into a screenplay. Collection also includes the contract between Bacher and Jill Faulkner Summers for the movie rights. Of particular note in this collection is discussion of Faulkner's views of his ability as a screenwriter.

Faulkner Small Manuscripts
Series VII: Wooden Crosses contains a handwritten treatment of the movie script.
Series IX-XI: Requiem for a Nun, Intruder in the Dust and The Reivers contain materials related to the theatrical staging of these works.
Series XII: Movie Treatments include xerography, transcripts, story outlines, screenplays, and correspondence
Series XIII: Film Ephemera includes lobby cards, tickets, programs, sheet music and advertisements
Series XIV: Pressbooks include manuals on the advertising of Faulkner's cinematic works
Series XV: Theater, Movies and Documentaries Related to Faulkner contains playbills, promotional material and a performance contract.

Evans B. Harrington Collection: University of Mississippi English Professor and Director of the Faulkner and Yoknapatawpha Conference, Harrington studied and published on Faulkner. This collection contains both his work and that of other scholars. Correspondence in this collection references Faulkner film & documentary, conferences, literature and studies.

Newspapers (Boxed).  Box 28 contains 1949 issue of Oxford Eagle special edition on world premier of "Intruder in the Dust."  Box 57 includes October-November 1968 issues of The Conservative newspaper of Carrollton, Mississippi with articles covering the on location filming of "The Reivers) (75 boxes).

Meta Carpenter Wilde Collection: contains articles, reviews, photographs, and audiocassettes related to the life of Meta Carpenter Wilde and chiefly documenting her career in the film industry and her love affair with Faulkner.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library

Phone: 662-915-7408
Fax: 662-915-5734
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)
Ask Special Collections

Phil Mullen Collection, Special Collections.