The manuscript collections identified by this subject guide focus primarily on Mississippi, although they also include material on other schools outside the state, as well as regional and national educational organizations. Dates range from the nineteenth through the twenty-first centuries.
Thomas G. Abernethy Collection. 1943-1972. Thomas G. Abernethy represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1943 to 1973. Abernethy was a member of the District of Columbia Committee and chaired its Education Subcommittee. His congressional papers contain a number of files on education topics in general as well as those related to his subcommittee (454 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small part of this collection is available online.
Jennie & Lucia Adams Collection. 1845-1914.Box 1, Folder 45 contains a handwritten manuscript "Second Annual Report of Committee on Education, Clarksdale Grange, Feb 1875" (13 boxes).
Aldrich Collection. 1798-1972. Papers of the Treadwell and Aldrich families in northeastern Mississippi around Lamar and Davis Mills (now Michigan City). Many of the children were educated, and the collection contains documents related to secondary schools throughout the south beginning in the 1840s. The family was also instrumental in establishing Lamar Female Academy. (25 boxes). Part of the collection is available as a digital collection.
American Association of University Professors (AAUP), University of Mississippi Chapter Collection. 1949-present. Contains correspondence, member lists, minutes, financial statements, chapter letters, handbooks, bulletins, and newspaper clippings (7 boxes).
American Association of University Women (AAUW) Collection. 1899-2000. Correspondence, reports, and material of the Mississippi Division and individual chapters within the state. The AAUW is a national organization that promotes education and equity for women and girls (122 boxes).
American Family Association Collection. 1990-2005. Collection consists of publications and circular letters by the American Family Association, a conservative Christian lobbying organization. The material includes many references to education (2 boxes).
Audubon Mississippi/Strawberry Plains Finley Collection. 1830-2008. Includes several folders with school material as well as a 1920-1922 ledger with the Holly Springs School Board minutes and a 1904-1920 ledger with the Holly Springs Institute board minutes (29 boxes).
F.A.P. Barnard Collection. 1834-1992. Barnard joined the faculty of the University of Alabama in 1838 where he remained until accepting a position at the University of Mississippi in 1854. He served as president of UM from 1856 until 1860. He assumed the presidency of Columbia University in New York in 1864. The collection contains correspondence, publications, newspaper clippings, and other materials on Barnard (2 boxes).
Marge Baroni Collection. 1955-1985. Marge Baroni was a white, Catholic civil rights activist in Natchez, Mississippi. She participated in the formation of the Adams-Jefferson Improvement Corporation, a community action group created to conform with Title II of the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964. Its initiatives included Head Start. After receiving a high school equivalency diploma in 1968, Baroni attended Copiah-Lincoln Junior College and then the University of Southern Mississippi. The collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, journals, and material on a variety of topics that interested Baroni (20 boxes).
Russell H. Barrett Collection. 1956-1974. A University of Mississippi political science professor from 1954 to 1976, Russell H. Barrett wrote Integration at Ole Miss in 1965. Much of the collection concerns this episode; however, it also includes material related to his service on the national council of the American Association of University Professors and academic freedom on college campuses. Boxes 12 through 14 also contain a number of newspaper clippings on race, education, and politics (21 boxes).
Henry & Katherine Bellamann Collection. 1906-1954. Box 40 contains a typed manuscript by Mrs. E.W. Jones of Carthage, Mississippi entitled "How I Earned My Education." Finding aid available in Special Collections (40 boxes).
Mrs. Emma Faser Birchett Collection. 1874-1988. Box 1 includes an 1899 commencement program for Oxford Graded School; a 1927 commencement program for Oxford High School; a handwritten manuscript "Life of Rev. James Angel Fox" (an Episcopal rector in Vicksburg, Mississippi, Fox established several schools in the state); and a handwritten "Schoolgirl's Herbarium" with entries dated 1870 to 1873 (2 boxes).
Board of Trustees Reports and Minutes. 1845-1991. Contains minutes related to the Board of Trustees at the University of Mississippi and the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Education (15 boxes).
Mabel C. Bonner Scrapbook. 1913. Scrapbook of clippings, photographs, and signatures of Jackson High School (Mississippi) class of 1913 and teachers (1 box).
Sherwood Bonner (Katherine S. McDowell) Collection. 1863-1882. Sherwood Bonner is the pseudonym of Mississippi author Katherine S. McDowell. The collection contains an 1863 letter by McDowell discussing her education (1 box).
Jerry Boone Collection. 1997-2004. Records of Dr. Jerry Boone's service from 1998 to 2004 as court-appointed monitor for the Ayers lawsuit on desegregation and disparate state funding of Mississippi higher education institutions (5 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Herschel Brickell Collection. Box 14, Folder 1 contains an address "Education in Colombia" [South America] delivered by literary critic Herschel Brickell in Washington, DC (4 November 1943). Finding aid available in Special Collections (61 boxes).
Juanita Brown Collection. Box 1 contains a number of letters to Juanita Brown from the General Board of Christian Education, Methodist Episcopal Church, South from 1932 to 1944 (7 boxes).
Hallie Buie Collection. 1924-1949. Hallie Buie served as a missionary in Korea for thirty years. During that time, she worked as head of a girls' school. The collection contains material related to education in Korea, as well as missionary education. Finding aid available in Special Collections (2 boxes).
Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection. 1854-1937. Roane Fleming Byrnes was born in 1890 in Natchez, Mississippi. Her mother Anna Metcalf Fleming (1861-1936) was a school teacher, and the collection includes school records and correspondence of her mother and father who attended Natchez Institute. Byrnes attended Stanton College in Natchez. (46 boxes).
Allen Cabaniss Collection. Box 2, Folder 3 contains an 1896 constitution of the National Association of State Universities (7 boxes).
Cassette Tape and Reels Collection. Includes a circa 1984 recording of "Mississippi NAACP Educational Forum" parts 1 and 2; "Health, Education & Community Participation" Youth Session; and "Educational Forum." Finding aid available in Special Collections (9 boxes).
Lyda Russell Caughman Collection. 1922-1987. Lyda and Carl Caughman went to India to serve as Lutheran missionaries soon after their marriage in 1922. Box 4, Folder 1 contains letters by Carl Caughman while a student at Newberry College and later Lutheran Theology Seminary in Columbia, South Carolina; Box 4, Folder 10 contains a student handbook of Newberry College (1917-18) with many handwritten notations (7 boxes).
Chancellors Biographical Collection. 1952-1998. Includes copies of various addresses on higher education given by A.S. Butts, chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1935 to 1946 and J.D. Williams, chancellor from 1946 to 1968 (3 boxes).
Chancellors Collection/Porter Fortune. 1935-1989. Porter Fortune served as chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1968 to 1984. In addition to files on UM, the collection also includes files on National Association of State Colleges and Land Grant Universities correspondence; National Higher Education Week; Junior College Commission Correspondence; Presidents' Council Minutes; Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges; the Board of Trustees; Harvard University Kennedy School of Government Administration; Junior College -- Dantzler v. Gulf Park College; Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools; Governor's Conference on Education, 1974; Governor's Committee on Higher Education, 1973; School of Education; Education, TV, 1968-76; State Department of Education; National Center for Higher Education Management Systems; National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education; North Mississippi Retardation Center; Southern Association of Colleges and Universities; Mississippi Valley State University; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi State University; Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation; Mississippi Authority for Educational Television; Mississippi Association of Educators; Mississippi Association of Colleges; Intercollegiate Athletics; American Association of University Professors; American Association of State Colleges and Universities; American Council of Education; University of Southern Mississippi; Association of American Colleges; Black Institutions -- Interaction and Recruiting; Jackson State University; Junior Colleges; Junior/Senior College Conference; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Southern University Conference; National Committee on Education; Intergovernmental Advisory Council on Education; Department of Continuing Education; Southern Regional Education Board; Southeastern Research Universities; White Paper on Education in Mississippi; Education Building Renovation Committee; Military Education Committee. (208 boxes).
Chancellors Collection/ Robert Burwell Fulton. UM chancellor from 1892 to 1906. In addition to chancellors files, includes correspondence with various educators. (24 boxes).
Chancellors Collection/J.D. Williams. 1901-1978. J.D. Williams served as chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1946 to 1968. In addition to files on UM, the collection also documents Williams' involvement with the Armed Forces Education Program from 1953 to 1957, the Tenth Civil Service Regional Loyalty Board, and his presidency of the National Association of State Universities. Speeches on education also include those he gave during his tenure as head of the Tennessee Valley Authority School in the Norris Dam area of Tennessee as well as President of Marshall College in Huntington, West Virginia (34 boxes).
Citizens' Council Collection. 1947-1979. Materials related to the activities of the White Citizens' Councils in Mississippi. A number of the items are about the battle to prevent public school integration (3 boxes).
Claude F. Clayton Collection. 1934-1969. Claude F. Clayton served as a judge in the U.S. District Court of Northern Mississippi (1958-67) and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (1967-69). The collection contains judicial files from his tenure on both courts, including several cases on school desegregation (44 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
J.P. Coleman Collection. A former governor of Mississippi (1956-60), J.P. Coleman served on the bench of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit from 1965 to 1984. The collection holds his judicial papers, including files of school desegregation cases before the Fifth Circuit (79 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Thelma T. Collums Collection. 1940-1952. Thelma Thierce married John Q.P. Collums in 1936 and settled in Houlka, Mississippi. After her husband's death in 1950, Collums taught in Houlka and other parts of Mississippi. The collection contains manuscripts of several short stories, her University of Mississippi master's diploma (1952), and two scrapbooks (1 box).
Conferences Collection. 1908-2001. Contains programs and material related to conferences held at the University of Mississippi, including high school meets as well as various association conferences for both higher education and primary/secondary education. (2 boxes).
H.V. Cooper Collection. 1931-1966. H.V. Cooper worked as Superintendent of Schools in Vicksburg, Mississippi from 1932 until his retirement in 1960. He then worked as a guidance counselor at All Saint's College in Vicksburg and directed summer extension programs at Mississippi State University. Cooper served in the Mississippi Senate from 1960 to 1963 where he helped to enact a significant salary increase for K-12 teachers in March 1960 and also chaired an education study committee which issued a 1961 comprehensive report on the state's education system from kindergarten through higher education. 2 boxes.
Cotton Collection. Includes Decisions of Southern Educators on Study of Cotton (1944). Finding aid available in Special Collections (1 box).
Crosby/Gammill Collection. 1978-1986. Box 22 contains material on the Crosby Arboretum at Mississippi State University. Finding aid available in Special Collections (40 boxes).
Cultural Events Collection. 1907-2006. Programs and other material related to cultural events at the University of Mississippi, including "Public Education in the Twentieth Century South, October 5-7, 1992." (5 boxes).
Arthur DeRosier Collection. 1959-1976. Professional and personal files of Arthur H. DeRosier Jr. He received his B.S. in history from the University of Southern Mississippi in 1953 and his M.A. and Ph.D. in history from the University of South Carolina in 1955 and 1959. DeRosier received academic appointments at Converse College, the Citadel, and the University of Southern Mississippi. In 1965 he became the graduate dean at the University of Oklahoma, moved to East Tennessee State University in 1967 as dean of the Graduate School and then became vice president for administration in 1972. Between 1974 and 1977, he served as vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Mississippi. He later became president of East Tennessee State University, the College of Idaho, and Rocky Mountain College in Billings, Montana (29 boxes).
Diploma and Certificates Collection. 1850-1955. In addition to University of Mississippi diplomas, the collection includes others from Union Female College in Oxford, Mississippi (1872), Tupelo Graded High School (1899), National School of Elocution and Oratory in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (1884), Doctor of Medicine from Bellevue Hospital (1873), University of Chicago (1911), Oxford High School (1899), Port Gibson Collegiate Academy for Females (1855), Iuka Normal Institute Diploma (1890), and Wesleyan Female College (1873). It also includes a certificate of appointment to the 6th Congressional District Textbook Commission (1905). Location: Large Map Case.
James O. Eastland Collection. 1923-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate in 1941 and from 1943 to 1978. His congressional papers contain a number of files on education at the national, state, and local level. Eastland became chair of the Judiciary Committee in 1956 and was a leading civil rights opponent. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small selection of items are available as a digital collection.
James E. Edmonds Collection. 1886-1934. A student at the University of Mississippi between 1896 and 1900, James E. Edmonds wrote home about an outbreak of typhoid fever at Union Female College in Oxford, Mississippi (3 boxes). Selections are available as a digital collection.
Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection. 1834-1987. Box 1, Folder 22 contains two 1850 letters: one on how girls should behave at school and another from a female teacher at Oxford, Mississippi. Belle Edmondson attended Franklin College in Holly Springs, Mississippi in 1850s where she received a number of letters from friends. Box 33 contains a poetry album and autograph album kept by Sophia Bridges likely while at Pontotoc Female Academy in 1847. Box 42 contains educational material and 20th century diplomas. Finding aid available in Special Collections (43 boxes).
Evans Collection. 1806-1832. Includes an 1832 letter from James Stevenson discussing his education at the College of Glasgow. (1 box).
Kinloch Falconer Collection. 1862-1878. Includes Kinloch Falconer's 1878 certificate of appointment as trustee of the Institute for the Blind, signed by Governor John M. Stone (2 boxes).
Featherston Collection. 1824-1952. Box 9, Folder 14 contains typed transcript of letters dated 1850 from H.B. Nichols at the University of Michigan to his family discussing Chi Psi secret society, finances, clothing, the university and the legislature, and judge of the probate system (16 boxes).
Eugene B. Ferris Collection. 1826-1984. After graduating from Mississippi Agricultural and Mechanical College in 1895, Eugene B. Ferris worked for the Mississippi Agricultural Experiment Station until retirement in 1945. He served as superintendent of branch stations in both Pearl River County and Holly Springs. The collection contains memoirs, correspondence, and ephemera. Box 4, Folder 7 includes "A Course of Study for Mississippi's Agricultural High Schools, 1908-1925" (4 boxes).
Tim Ford Collection. 1987-1996. Collection contains correspondence received by Tim Ford while serving as Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives. Education is a topic of many letters (4 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Carroll Gartin Collection. 1941-1966. Carroll Gartin served as Mississippi's Lieutenant General from 1952 to 1960 and then from 1964 until his death in 1966. He championed industrial development and educational improvements, playing a key role in legislation to raise teacher salaries in both 1964 and 1966. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Recordings and photographs from the collection are available in a digital collection.
Roxana Chapin Gerdine Collection. 1858-1892. Born in Massachusetts in 1833, Roxana Chapin graduated from Mt. Holyoke Seminary in 1854 and then married a widower from West Point, Mississippi with nine children. They settled in West Point and Roxana Gerdine established a successful girl's school on their plantation, which she later moved to West Point after her husband's death (2 boxes). Digital Collection available.
Graduating/Senior Theses Collection. 1858-1937. Collection of handwritten and typed graduating and senior theses by University of Mississippi students. Several papers are on education topics (8 boxes).
Edwin Granberry Collection. 1918-1990. Born in Meridian, Mississippi, Edwin Granberry taught Romance languages at Miami University in Ohio after graduating from Columbia University in 1920. From 1925 to 1933, he was Latin and French Master at Stevens School in New Jersey. From 1933 to 1972, he served as writer in residence at Rollins College in Florida. (16 boxes).
Lela Karen Smith Hale Collection. 2008-2009. Oral histories of teachers, parents, and students involved in the desegregation of Mary Reid Elementary and Potts Camp Attendance Center in Marshall County, Mississippi. Original recordings and transcripts. (7 microcassettes and bound transcription).
Theora Hamblett Collection. 1955-1975. Born in Paris, Mississippi in 1895, Theora Hamblett moved to Oxford, Mississippi in 1930 where she taught elementary school. After retirement, she began a second career as an artist of the primitive, or naive, school. An important subject matter of her art is children at play. The collection contains ephemera, clippings, film, photographs, and a scrapbook (6 boxes and 1 scrapbook).
Fannie Lou Hamer Collection. A founding member of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party created in 1966 as an alternative to the all-white Democratic Party, Fannie Lou Hamer was involved in a number of projects to assist poor black and white residents of Sunflower County, Mississippi. Box 1, Folder 3 holds information on the Fannie Lou Hamer Day Care Center; Box 1, Folder 5 on the Fund for Education and Community Development; Box 1, Folder 7 on the Child Development Group of Mississippi; Box 3, Folder 7 on school desegregation; and Box 3, Folder 13 on the Center for Black Education (4 boxes).
James Boyce Henderson. 1897-1969. Born in Chiwapa, Mississippi in 1893, James Boyce Henderson attended the University of Mississippi 1919-1920 and then the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. The seminary forced him to leave in 1923 for publicly questioning the student clubs on campus. In 1927, Henderson began working as a teacher in Kanatak, Alaska under the Department of the Interior. A position he retained for twenty years. The collection contains photographs, manuscripts, correspondence, and other material (3 boxes).
Rev. Graham R. Hodges Collection. 1797-1999. Contains material and reminiscences of his time at Copiah-Lincoln Agricultural High School in the 1930s and later at the University of Mississippi (7 boxes).
Verner S. Holmes Collection. 1910-1990. Dr. Verner S. Holmes served on Mississippi's Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning from 1956 to 1980. The collection includes minutes, scrapbooks, printed material, and clippings related to the Board, as well as a number of oral histories conducted by historian David Sansing with members of the Board and other figures involved in the integration of higher education in the state (15 boxes).
Sarah Isom Center Collection. Includes a series on professional organizations for academic women (107 boxes).
Jiggits Collection. 1917-1925. An alumnus of the University of Mississippi, Louis M. Jiggits studied at St. Johns College in Oxford, England as a Rhodes Scholar. The collection contains correspondence from this period (2 boxes).
John Wesley Johnson Collection. 1853-1930. Material related to the life of John Wesley Johnson, a professor of mathematics at the University of Mississippi. Box 4, Folder 9 contains surveys completed by presidents at various colleges for the purposes of introducing changes at the University of Mississippi (1889) (6 boxes).
Ed King Collection. 1939-1983. Ed King served as chaplain at Tougaloo College and was a key figure in the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. The collection contains a variety of material documenting race relations and civil rights in Mississippi, including school desegregation (10 boxes).
Knox Collection. 1958-1974. An assortment of literature by and about extremist and conservative organizations, Box 2 in the collection includes Keep Communist Teachers off Campus (1969) and Selective Association of Ethnic Groups in a High School (1965); Limited Survey of Honoraria Given Guest Speakers for Engagements at Colleges and Universities (1970); Box 3, Folder 25 contains miscellaneous material on school prayer; Box 7, Folder 10 holds literature by University Professors for Academic Order from Corvallis, Colorado; Box 7, Folder 12 contains a National Right to Work Committee pamphlet Catalog of Educational Materials (1977); and Box 11 contains four issues of National Educator from 1976 and 1978. Finding aid available in Special Collections (12 boxes).
Ku Klux Klan Collection. 1955-1978. Correspondence, publications, clippings, and other materials related to the revival of the white supremacist Ku Klux Klan in the South after World War II. The collection includes material on KKK activity in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, and Tennessee. The group opposed school integration. (2 boxes).
Mary Ellen Wilcox Larche Collection. Includes a scrapbook kept by Mary Ellen Wilcox Larche while attending Central High School in Jackson, Mississippi circa 1919-1925. It includes entries and notes by author Eudora Welty (1 box).
League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection. 1946-2001. The collection contains the official records of the Mississippi division of this national, nonpartisan organization which encourages citizens to actively participate in government. The group also advocates for policies in the public interest, like education (33 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Recordings and photographs from the collection are available in a digital collection.
William & Marjorie Lewis Collection. 1828-1908. Collections contains material related to the life of Jacob Thompson, who represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives (1839-1850), served as President Buchannan's Secretary of the Interior (1857-1861), and supervised covert Confederate activity in Canada. Box 1, Folders 15 and 16 contain letters dated 1828 and 1832 from Nicholas Thompson to Jacob Thompson presumably while at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Box 1, Folder 25 holds an 1878 letter from Jacob to brother William Thompson regarding the education of Jake Thompson; Box 2, Folder 2 has an 1832 letter from Nicholas Thompson to Jacob at Chapel Hill regarding family finances for his further education (2 boxes).
E. Wilson Lyon Collection. 1923-1974. Letters from UM graduate E. Wilson Lyon from his time as a Rhodes Scholar in Oxford, England from 1925 to 1928. Wilson later became president of Pomona College in Claremont, California (3 boxes + 1 bound volume).
Map Collection. 1687-1998. The collection includes a number of maps of the University of Mississippi as well as Map #86, a hand-drawn, undated sketch of properties and acreage of Hernando and the DeSoto Female Academy; Map #68, an undated campus map of Mississippi State University; Map #139 an undated outline map of Mississippi for school use; Map #223 undated street map of Mississippi State University and Starkville, Mississippi; and Map #183 undated map of Hattiesburg, Mississippi with legend identifying black and white schools.
McAlexander/Marshall County Collection. 1838-2009. Includes research files and copies of original material related to both schools and higher education institutions in Holly Springs and Marshall County, Mississippi (23 boxes).
Annie McGehee Collection. 1890-1946. Originally from Como, Mississippi, Annie McGehee was a student and perhaps a teacher at Huntsville Female College in Huntsville, Alabama in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. The collection consists of correspondence sent to McGehee (3 boxes).
Louis Lowry McInnis Collection. 1872-1901. After graduation from the University of Mississippi in 1875, McInnis took a position as professor at Agricultural and Mechanical College in College Station, Texas. The collection contains correspondence he received from UM friends (2 boxes).
George McLean Collection. 1947-1982. George McLean taught briefly at Adrian College in Michigan and Southwestern College in Memphis, Tennessee before buying the Tupelo Journal in Tupelo, Mississippi. He was instrumental in community development organizations like Lift Inc., a local Community Action Agency that provided Head Start and reading aide program that evolved into a model for a statewide teacher aide program. The collection includes notes, speeches and tapes on education topics (9 boxes).
Meek Scrapbook. 1913-1950. Among loose items removed to folders were invitations to commencement exercises at Fairmount College in Monteagle, Tennessee (1913); Franklin High School in Columbus, Mississippi (1914, 1915); Newberry High School (1917); and Stephen D. Lee High School in Columbus, Mississippi (1921) (1 box).
Memories of Mississippi Essay Collection. Contains written reminiscences of Mississippi during the Great Depression. A number of the essays discuss education (1 box).
James Howard Meredith Collection. 1950-1997. James H. Meredith attended Jackson State College from 1960 to 1961 before becoming the first African American student to register at the University of Mississippi. The collection contains the personal papers of Meredith documenting his family, educational, and professional life (146 boxes). A small portion of the collection is available in the Integration Correspondence digital collection.
Bill Miles Collection. 1962-2011. Bill Miles retained a close relationship with both of his alma maters (Itawamba Community College and the University of Mississippi) over the years, at times teaching journalism, advertising, marketing, and public relations courses as well as serving on journalism advisory boards (7 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs are available in a digital collection.
Mississippi Cites & Counties Collection. 1914-1980. Collection contains an assortment of postcards, pamphlets and public relations documents on cities and counties throughout the state of Mississippi. Educational institutions may be referenced in files (8 boxes).
Mississippi Colleges & Universities Collection. 1890-2003. Includes pamphlets, bulletins, and newspapers from Alcorn College, Belhaven College, Blue Mountain College, Delta State College, Hinds Junior College, Jackson State University, Mary Holmes College, Meridian Junior College, Millsaps College, Mississippi College, Mississippi University for Women, Mississippi State University, Northeast Mississippi Junior College, Rust College, Stone College (Meridian, Mississippi), Tougaloo College, Union Female College (Oxford, Mississippi), University of Southern Mississippi, and William Carey College (1 box).
Mississippi Economic Council Collection. 1955-1982. Includes a 1982 report "Vocational-Technical Education: A Four-State View" (1 box).
Mississippi Education Collection. 1924-2000. An assortment of articles, newsletters, and documents related to education in Mississippi -- primary, secondary, and higher (1 box). The entirety is also available online as a digital collection.
Mississippi Forestry Collection. 1920-1976. Folder 30 contains Questions and Answers about Mississippi's Sixteenth Section School Lands (circa 1960s) (1 box).
Mississippi Law Collection. 1950s-1982. Folder 6 contains Mississippi House Bill No. 1119 of 1980 on the Mississippi Education Reform Act, and Folder 18 contains 1950s material on the Mississippi Children's Code Commission (1 box).
Mississippi Libraries Collection. 1939-2005. Assortment of newsletters, articles, and publications related to libraries in Mississippi (2 boxes).
Mississippi Organizations Collection. 1920-2003. Contains a 1947-48 list of adopted books by the Mississippi State Textbook Purchasing Board and a 1974 publication from the Mississippi Council for the Social Studies (2 boxes).
Mississippi Periodicals Collection. 1921-1982. Includes Olga Reed Pruitt's article "The Walls Come Tumblin' Down" on the Rust College choir in The Christian Advocate (11 November 1948); C. Vann Woodward's "The Unreported Crisis in the Southern Colleges" in Harper's (October 1962); "What Do We Teach about the Negro?" in Journal of the National Education Association (January 1939); Jon Nordheimer's "Teacher by Day, Terrorist by Night" in Mid-South Magazine (30 March 1969) on a Ku Klux Klan member; Raymond Gram Swing's "'Education' as a Racket" in The Nation (3 July 1935) on vocational education; J.D. Williams' "Higher Education in the South" in NEA Journal (February 1950); Timon Covert's "Financing Mississippi's Public Schools" in School Life (May 1947); "Mississippi College Reports on Its 'Six Weeks Plan'" in School and Society (17 February 1940); Fred Russell's "Overabundant Material Gives SEC Five of Nation's Best" in South: The News Magazine of Dixie (17 September 1956) on college football in Mississippi; Bobbie M. Lewis's "The Intriguing Ross E. Hutchins" in Southeastern Librarian (Summer 1971) on a Mississippi State University entomologist; and an October 1952 issue of Mississippi Educational Advance (6 boxes).
Mississippi Politics Collection. 1908-2003. Materials on an assortment of Mississippi politicians and the state's politics in general. Numerous pieces of campaign literature, press releases, and speeches allude to education (3 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Mississippi State Textbook Purchasing Board Minutes Collection. 1940-1987. Copies of the Mississippi State Textbook Purchasing Board minutes. In addition to details of the meetings, the minutes also include lists of approved textbook titles and publishers for each subject in each grade (1 box). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. The contents are also available as a digital collection.
Mitchell Family Marshall County Collection. 1812-1984. Includes a bound book with brief biographical sketches of sixty-one men and women who served as president of the Mississippi Education Association between 1884 and 1942; 1922 graduation invitation for Mississippi Synodical College (7 boxes).
Franklin E. Moak Collection. 1943-1997. Collection includes material related to Moak's service as Dean of the Division of Student Personnel from 1964 to 1981 and the classes he taught in Higher Education (87 boxes).
Willie Morris Collection. Born on 29 November 1934 in Jackson, Mississippi, Willie Morris moved to Yazoo City, Mississippi during his early childhood. He graduated from the University of Texas in 1956, serving as editor of The Daily Texan. A Rhodes Scholar, Morris edited the Texas Observer (1960-62), associate editor at Harper's Magazine (1963-67), and editor-in-chief (1967-71). In 1980, he became Writer-in-Residence at the University of Mississippi. Morris wrote many articles and books, including Yazoo: Integration in a Deep-Southern Town (1971). The collection consists of correspondence, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, and other material (173 boxes).
Nash & Taggart Collection. Contains audio recordings of oral histories conducted by Jere Nash and Andy Taggart in the process of writing their book Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 and the subsequent edition Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2008. Interviewees include governors, members of Congress, state legislators, state officials, state party leaders, political candidates, staff members, lawyers, and lobbyists. Among the main subjects under discussion is education reform in the state; digital collection available.
Newspaper (Boxed) Collection. Box 9 contains 1885-1886 editions of Mississippi State University's Dialectic Reflector. Box 28 holds a March 1912 supplement of the Oxford Eagle "Report of Committee on Universities and Colleges." Box 57 contains several November 1958 issues of Grenada County Weekly containing a history series on area colleges. Box 65 holds a 16 November 1928 issue of Mississippi College's Mississippi Collegian. Box 74 includes 1921-1922 and 1931 issues of the Natchez High School newspaper. Box 61 holds 1976-1977 issues of The Voice of Shimph, a civil rights newspaper published in Greenwood, Mississippi by the Mississippi Action for Community Education Inc. (MACE) (69 boxes).
Ken Oilschlager -- Juliette Derricotte Collection. 1924-1950. Collection of papers and correspondence related to the life and death of Juliette Derricotte (1897-1931), an advocate of African American education and the first woman trustee of Talladega College. Derricotte traveled across the nation and abroad in support of black colleges and education, serving as a delegate at the World's Student Christian Federation conventions in 1924 and 1928. She became Dean of Women at Fisk University in 1929. She died from injuries in an automobile accident after a Georgia hospital denied service because it did not treat blacks. Her death created a national outrage (4 boxes).
John Elon Phay Collection. Contains over 4,700 images documenting late 1940s and mid 1950s segregated primary and secondary schools in Mississippi, as well as the University of Mississippi (42 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Available as a digital collection.
Piney Woods Country Life School Collection. 1923-2003. Collection contains pamphlets, programs, broadsheets, and numerous articles related to the Piney Woods Country Life School, an African American boarding school in Mississippi (1 box). Available as a digital collection.
Mrs. R.E. Price Collection. 1859-1973. Box 1, Folder 1 holds a handwritten copy of an 1859 diploma conferred by Corona College in Corinth, Mississippi; and Box 1, Folder 23 contains a typed article "The Story of Corona College" by May Price (3 boxes).
Race Relations Collection. 1885-2004. The collection consists of an assortment of printed material and documents on race relations and civil rights at the University of Mississippi, the state of Mississippi, and the United States. A large number of items relate to education (8 boxes).
Thomas Reber Collection. 1860-1918. Born in Sandusky, Ohio, Thomas Reber enrolled in Ovid Agricultural College in New York in 1861. He left to join the Union Army. The collection contains several letters from Hannah Marshall, a student at Troy Female Seminary in New York (4 boxes).
Dorothye Quaye Chapman Reed Collection. 1968-2021. Reed graduated from UM in 1974 and subsequently served as the first African American Admissions Counselor at UM between 1974 and 1977. From 1977 to 1981, she was the Assistant Director of the Student Center at East Tennessee State University. Reed received recognition for raising black enrollment at UM and helping to start the Black Student Affairs organization at East Tennessee State University. Collection includes scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, photographs, print material, and memorabilia. 31 boxes.
Jack Reed Collection. 1962-1994. A businessman in Tupelo, Mississippi, Jack Reed was heavily involved in public service, including chairmanships of the 1980 Blue Ribbon Committee for Public Education in Mississippi, the State Board of Education in Mississippi, and the National Advisory Council on Educational Research and Improvement. The collection contains correspondence and clippings related to his life (1 box).
John Richbourg Collection. 1942-1986. John Richbourg was a broadcaster and record producer who founded a school for broadcasting for African American students in the 1950s. The collection includes sound recordings, photographs, memorabilia, and correspondence (5 boxes).
David G. Sansing Collection. 1840-1999. Collection contains research material compiled for David G. Sansing's The University of Mississippi: A Sesquicentennial History (1999). In addition to files on UM's history, Box 6 also includes a Southern Studies Seminar paper by Matthew McMillen entitled "'We Must Educate, Not Be Educated by Others': The Founding of Mississippi Industrial College and the Problems of African American Education in the South"; and another paper entitled "A History of the Founding and Early Growth of the University High School, Oxford, Mississippi." (10 boxes).
John C. Satterfield/American Bar Association Collection. 1928-1974. A Mississippian, John C. Satterfield was president of the American Bar Association 1961-62. The collection also includes speeches and case files associated with his representation of Mississippi Governor Ross Barnett during the 1962 University of Mississippi integration crisis as well as consolidated cases of public school boards across Mississippi and the South seeking to delay desegregation (51 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs available in a digital collection.
James W. Silver Collection. 1928-1986. From 1936 to 1964, James W. Silver was a professor of history at the University of Mississippi. He wrote the bestseller Mississippi: The Closed Society (1964) on white resistance to civil rights in the state. He served as president of the Southern Historical Association in 1963-64. In addition to personal correspondence and manuscripts, the collection also contains material on race relations and civil rights collected by Silver (50 boxes). A selection of items from the collection are available in a digital collection.
Calvin R. Simmons Collection. 1840-1992. These papers of a Pontotoc County, Mississippi family include items (primarily commencement invitations) related to the following schools: McMinn County High School in Tennessee; Branham and Hughes School in Spring Hill, Tennessee; Pleasant Grove School; Pontotoc High School; Indianola High School; Capleville High School in Tennessee; Gunnison High School; Gunnison Consolidated School; Norfleet High School in Red Banks, Mississippi; Hot Springs High School; Lampasas High School in Texas; Tippah County Agricultural High School; DeSoto County Agricultural High School; Shelby High School; Greenville High School; University of Tennessee Medical School; Rosedale High School; and Tulane Medical School. (24 boxes).
Small Manuscripts 76-3. 1886. Two letters received by Luella Gray while a student (likely at Union Female College in Oxford, Mississippi) from her mother in Gray's Mill, Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 76-5. 1834-1901. Board minutes and other documents related to the Holly Springs Female Academy in Holly Springs, Mississippi (2 folders).
Small Manuscripts 76-7. Includes an 1840 printed copy of A.B. Longstreet's inaugural address at Emory College in Atlanta, Georgia (1 folder); Peter Patterson Collection contains an 1844 Math ledger and biographical information (1 folder); 1971 photocopied correspondence of Mrs. John R. Rayburn on Dr. Alexander Means, Vanderbilt University, and Emory University (1 folder); photocopies of 1897 and 1899 catalogs of North Mississippi Presbyterian College (1 folder); and a photocopied 1887-89 catalog of Pass Christian Institute Sea-Side Academy for Young Ladies and Girls (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 77-1. The James Boyd Campbell Collection includes reprint and manuscript of Campbell's 1963 Newcomen Society address "The Story of Boyd Campbell and the Mississippi School Supply Company" (1 folder); a copy of Turner Catledge's 1967 address commemorating the 82nd anniversary of the University of Arizona (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 77-3. Includes a folder entitled "Pioneer Teachers" on early school teachers in Mississippi: Ella Pegues, Mattie Houston, Gabriel Houston, and Flora McFarland (1 folder); and an 1877 proceedings of the Mississippi State Teachers Association (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 78-1. 1857. Ida Campbell Collection includes a photocopy of a report from the Presbyterian Female Collegiate Institute in Pontotoc, Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 78-1. Phil Stone Collection includes first grade exercises of Stone and classmates (2 folders).
Small Manuscripts 78-1. John Faulkner Collection includes school exercises by Faulkner (1 folder); the J.G. Deupree Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings from 1866-1867 and include articles on black education (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 78-2. 1877-1880. Programs from various events at Union Female College in Oxford, Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 78-2. Circa 1800s. Handwritten essay in French on Catholic schools (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 78-3. Unpublished typed manuscript by Ed King, Chaplain at Tougaloo College, discussing his role in the Mississippi civil rights movement (13 folders); photocopied material on Kemper County, Mississippi including the transcript of an interview with a Mrs. Boyd on the Fairview Male and Female Institute of Binnsville, Mississippi (6 folders).
Small Manuscripts 78-5. 1873. Judge and Mrs. J.W. Clapp Collection includes an address to Franklin Female College (3 folders).
Small Manuscripts 78-7. 1907-1909. Programs, invitations, and catalog for University Training School in Oxford, Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 79-1. 1924. Unidentified history lecture notes (2 folders).
Small Manuscripts 79-4. 1854-1856. Unidentified school exercise books for French grammar and science (Folders 11 and 12).
Small Manuscripts 79-3. Includes 1868 journal kept by John Perkins, professor in the Presbyterian Theology Seminary of Columbia, South Carolina (1 folder); 1871 pamphlet on the organization of the University of Alabama (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 79-8. 1816-1821. New England Tract Society Collection includes "Obtaining an Education for the Gospel Ministry" by Rev. Lyman Beecher and "Education Society" by Ebenezer Porter (6 folders).
Small Manuscripts 80-1. 1925. Two documents regarding donations by whites to the African American Prentiss Normal and Industrial Institute in Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 82-1. 1873-1874. Seventeen letters by Landon Cabell Garland regarding the founding of Vanderbilt University (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 82-2. 1961. Report, sample certificate, and photographs related to the National Defense Language Institute conducted at the University of Mississippi June 26 to August 18, 1961 (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 82-2. 1893-1988. Typed memoir of Olivia Smith who describes growing up in Mississippi, teaching, marriage to a doctor, and religious faith (Folders 15 & 16).
Small Manuscripts 86-1. 1875-1877. "Class Book for Recording Scholarship and Attendance in Oxford Male School" (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 88-1. 1823. Letter from Elliot B---- to Zecheriah Howes regarding the establishment of mission schools for Choctaws in the Mississippi Territory. Transcription available (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 89-1. 1969-1971. L.Q.C. Lamar Society Collection includes material and reports on school desegregation in Mississippi (4 folders).
Small Manuscripts 93-1. 1887. Photocopy of Catalogue of the Officers and Students of Banner College, Located at Banner, Calhoun County, Mississippi, 1887-'88 (1 folder); programs and clippings on the Southern Literary Festival held at Blue Mountain College, Delta State College, and Baylor University (4 folders).
Small Manuscripts 93-2. Ford Family Collection includes photocopied correspondence and newspaper articles about Ebb J. Ford becoming Mississippi's first Rhodes scholar in 1904 (3 folders).
Small Manuscripts 94-1. 1994. Oxford Middle School student creation Thru Young Eyes: Historic Oxford 1994 Calendar (1 folder); and twelve 1840 letters between family members -- some in school in New York and others in Grenada, Mississippi (Folder 10).
Small Manuscripts 94-1. 1970. Correspondence between Walter P. Lewisohn and R. Philip Hanes regarding the founding of a craft school in the Virgin Islands (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 94-3. 1976-1983. Various issues of the newsletter Mississippi Community Education Quarterly (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 94-2. Circa 1950s. Typed manuscript entitle "Cultural Aspects of Mississippi: The Magnolia State" which includes a discussion of education.
Small Manuscripts 95-1. Includes a 1958 issue of St. Michaels Newsletter for the juvenile delinquent facility St. Michael's Farm for Boys in Picayune, Mississippi (1 folder); 1971 issue of Collegiate Challenge: The Official Organ of Campus Crusade for Christ, Inc. (1 folder); 1932 Branham and Hughes Military Academy Commencement Program (1 folder); and 1972-1976 programs from the Oxford Piano Teacher's Association honors recitals (1 folder); a typed manuscript "Demands to Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare" prepared by the Mississippi Coalition to Save Headstart (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 95-1. Program from 1953 entitled "Tougaloo College Presents...the Festival of the Recorded Word Commemorating the 500th Anniversary of the Printing of the First Book from Movable Type Invented by Johann Gutenberg" (1 folder); and a typed, undated manuscript of radio announcement of a talk by Cutherbert M. Lagrone of State Teachers College on "Reconstruction of Tragic Era" (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 95-3. 1947. Typed speech on federal aid to education by Fred W. Young of the National Americanism Commission of the American Legion before the House Committee on Labor and Education in Washington, DC (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 95-4. 1942. Issue of the Mississippi Woman's Magazine featuring several poems by David E. Guyton, professor of History and Economics at Blue Mountain College (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 95-4. J.C. Zeller Collection includes material circa 1909-1910 related to his tenure as president of the University of Puget Sound (1 folder); various issues from 1967-70 of Gulf Review the newsletter of the Gulf Universities Research Corporation.
Small Manuscripts 95-5. Broadside entitled "No. 6: I Challenge You" advocating the economic benefits of college football in Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 95-4. Includes a folder "Union Female College" containing a 1922 typed manuscript by Kate McGuire on "Old Schools of Lafayette County" (1 folder); the LePoint Smith Collection contains several letters and documents regarding education in Mississippi, particularly responses to the 1954 Brown v. Board of Topeka desegregation decision of the Supreme Court as (1 folder); and a photocopy of pages from a Meridian Female College publication dating from the late nineteenth century (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 97-1. 1923. Letter from William H. Holtzclaw, principal of the Utica Normal and Industrial Institute for the Training of Colored Young Men and Women (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 98-1. Circa 1980-90s. Choctaw Heritage Press pamphlet containing background information on the press and the Choctaw Department of Education (Folder 5).
Small Manuscripts 2003-1. Includes a transcription of an 1848-1849 diary by Henry Craft while a student at Princeton University and upon his return home to Holly Springs, Mississippi (1 folder); and a 1944 invitation to the graduation of Class 44-F from Columbus Army Flying School in Columbus, Mississippi (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts 2005-1. Includes photocopies of 1942 correspondence regarding war bonds sold by Moss Point High School for a war bomber (1 folder); materials on Reformed Theological Seminary (1 folder)
Small Manuscripts 2008-1. Elizabeth Female Academy Collection includes a binder of information on other Methodist female academies in southwest Mississippi, including Centre Seminary of Learning and Meeting House; Beechland-Red Lick Academy near Lorman, Jefferson County; Fayette Female Academy; Port Gibson Female Academy; Vicksburg Female Academy; Gibson's School House; Beech Land or Feathersone Chapel Academy in Warren County; Raymond Female Academy; Southern Female Academy in Rocky Springs, Claiborne County; Brownsville Female Academy in Hinds County; and Utica Female Academy in Hinds County (2 folders). The Coit Collection includes an 1876 subscription card for The Southern Collegian published by Washington & Lee University (Folder 20).
Small Manuscripts Oversized. Includes an 1968 Oxford Eagle newspaper article on Miss Robbie Eades 34-year career as an elementary school teacher (1 folder); and a 1923 issue of the Oxford High School newspaper O.H.S. Peptomist which discusses a bond issue, African American schools, and segregation (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts Oversized 79-1. Circa 1940s. Set of 25 posters "Education of Great Britain" published by British Information Services in New York on the history of the country's educational system (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts Oversized 79-7. Printed document Rules Relating to Pupils & Janitors of St. Louis Township Public School adopted by the Board of Education in 1873 (1 folder); and Dr. Thomas H. Somerville Collection including an 1870 diploma from Washington College in Virginia, an 1872 diploma from Washington & Lee University, and a certificate of membership in the Alumni Association of Washington & Lee University (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts Oversized 93-4. Includes an Address to the Public Announcing the Opening of Jefferson College, April 25, 1839 (1 folder); and a 1994 issue of OTS Reunion with articles about Oxford Training School (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts Oversized 95-7. Among a series of publicity releases by the Mississippi Agricultural and Industry Board are "Prairie Training Institute Is Supplying Industrial Need" and "Hospitality Month Calls for 'Host' Schools" (1 folder); scattered issues of the MAE Newsletter of the Mississippi Association of Educators from 1978-79 and a 1971 issue of MTA: NOW published by the Mississippi Teachers Association (1 folder); 1984-1985 issues of The "W" Alumnae News Bulletin (1 folder); and a 1972 Student Action, a Christian publication distributed at registration (1 folder).
Small Manuscripts Oversized 2014-2. Includes the front page of The High School Editor, from Oxford, Mississippi dated 25 January 1930 (1 folder).
Darwin A. Smalley Letterbook. 1860-1868. Page 14 holds the printed document The Policy of Congress in Reference to the Restoration of the Union. Published by the Union Republican Congressional Committee, Washington, DC (Washington, DC: Chronicle Print, c.1867) which includes editorial comments on public education in the Reconstruction South (1 box).
Wofford K. Smith Collection. 1962-1964. Reverend Wofford K. Smith, who supported the civil rights movement, was the University of Mississippi Episcopal Chaplain during the 1962 integration crisis. In addition to correspondence received by Smith on the topic of school integration, there is correspondence and clippings from Tougaloo College, material of the Women's Emergency Committee for Public Education, and an item related to St. Mary's Theological School Ovamboland in South Africa (4 boxes).
Southern Literary Festival Collection. Manuscripts, recordings, promotional material, and other records related to the Southern Literary Festival, founded in 1937 by southern colleges and universities to promote southern literature (7 boxes).
William Forbes Stearns Collection. 1841-1866. Papers of first University of Mississippi law professor William F. Stearns. Includes commencement address at Franklin Female Institute (2 boxes).
Alfred H. Stone Collection. 1786-1956. Collection includes material collected by Alfred H. Stone (1870-1955), a historian on slavery and race relations. It includes the following: a 1916 letter on the Fisk Jubilee Singers (Box 1, Folder 1); clippings "Educate the Negro, Ambassador Bryce Tells YMCA" Washington Post (1 May 1911), "Negro Americana begun at Howard University" Washington Star (2 January 1915), "Draws Color Line in School" Washington Post (7 January 1915), "Color Line Problem before School Board" Chicago Herald (6 April 1917), "Color Question Again Is Raised at High School" Chicago Tribune (6 April 1917), "Finds Trade School Negro's Chief Need" New York Times (19 June 1917) (Box 1, Folder 9); and clippings on Booker T. Washington (Box 1, Folder 10); Kelly Miller's "The Negro and Education" Forum (February 1901) (Box 2); Harriet Beecher Stowe's "The Education of Freedmen" North American Review (June 1879) (Box 2); and William Seneca Sutton's "The Education of the Southern Negro" Bulletin of the University of Texas (March 1912) (Box 2) (4 boxes).
Tackett and Dyson Family Collection. 1885-1960. Diplomas and certificates awarded by Mississippi organizations and institutions to members of the Tackett and Dyson families (1 box).
Lily Thompson Collection. 1897-1938. Box 1, Folder 14 holds a broadside Women as Trustees of Educational and Eleemosynary Institutions (Greenville, MS: Times Print, 1915) (3 boxes).
David Todd Collection. 1863-1938. Includes a photograph of Chamberlin Hunt Academy. Box 2, Folder 1 contains a typed reminiscence by Kate Shaifer Sholars who was born in Port Gibson, Mississippi in 1849; she discusses education in Mississippi and Louisiana. Box 2, Folder 11 holds correspondence of Mattie F. Rowan, widow of the former president of Alcorn Agricultural and Mechanical College (3 boxes).
Lucy Turnbull Collection. 1962-1987. Lucy Turnbull was an active member of various organizations in Mississippi, including the Southern Student Organizing Committee and the American Association of University Professors (Turnbull served as Secretary-Treasurer of the UM Chapter in the 1960s) (2 boxes).
United States v. Mississippi Interrogatory Answers Collection. Consists of an excerpt (pages 387-1276) from the Record of Appeal in this 1962 voting rights suit. Provides detailed data and sources on the difficulties African American faced in exercising their rights to vote between 1890 and 1963. Since the subject of literacy was an important component, it also includes information on the segregated school systems in the state. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Available as a digital collection.
University High School Collection. 1929-1963. The collection contains newspapers, yearbooks, photograph, diploma, and tassel from the University High School in Oxford, Mississippi.
University of Mississippi Magazine Collection. The following issues have articles on the education of women: December 1875, January 1876, March 1876, April 1876, June 1876, February 1877, January 1910. The June 1876 issue contains an essay on preporatory education. The February 1877 and December 1879 issues have pieces on education in the South, and the March 1900 issue has a story on high schools. Cataloged copies are also available in Special Collections at the following call numbers: LH1 M7 U5ma and LH1 M7 U5ma.
University Small Manuscripts/Miscellaneous. Box 1 includes a 1990 open letter to the state legislator "Mississippi Higher Education: Approaching Crisis"; Box 4 includes various materials from 1996 related to MPACT (Mississippi Prepaid Affordable College Tuition Program).
Vertical File Folders Collection. 1900s. Files of newspaper clippings on an array of subjects, including: Ayers Case; Civil Rights -- Segregation/Desegregation; Colleges & Universities (several folders with subcategories on Board of Trustess, Delta State University, Jackson State University, Millsaps, Miscellaneous, Mississippi College, Mississippi State University, Piney Woods, Politics, State College for Women, Tougaloo, University of Southern Mississippi, and Vocational State College); Education (several folders with subcategories on --1949, 1950-1969, 1970-, African American -- 1900s, Distributive, Equalization, Franklin Academy History, Kindergartens, Television, Vocational, Women); Educatiors -- Jones, Lawrence (Piney Woods); Piney Woods School; Private Schools; Project LEAP, P.T.A. (Parents and Teachers; Religious Education; School Lands; Schools -- Historic; Schools -- Jefferson Military College; Segregation; Sixteenth Section Lands; State University; State University Research; Students; Teachers; Teacher Retirement; Universities; and Universities -- Mississippi University for Women.
Vice Chancellors Collection. 1946-1976. In addition to files related to UM, the collection also contains files on the American Association of University Professors, the Association of American Colleges, the Board of Trustees, Higher Education Facilities Act of 1965, Mental Retardation Center, Mississippi State University, Oxford City Schools, Presidents Council, Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, Southern Regional Education Board, and University & College Press Committee (46 boxes).
Hilton Waits Collection. 1923-1964. Hilton Waits served in the Mississippi House of Representatives 1931-1960 and 1964. He chaired the House Ways and Means Committee from 1944 to 1960. Waits also served as attorney for the Washington County Board of Supervisors. Thus, the collection contains a number of education-related files from his public office and his law practice (23 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Elijah M. Walker Collection. Caroline King's diary circa 1850s-1860 discusses the [Oxford] Female Academy and education for females (2 boxes).
William M. Whittington Collection. 1897-1962. Mississippian William M. Whittington served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1925 to 1950. Whittington remained active in the affairs of his alma mater Mississippi College even after retirement. Box 147 contains a 1943 file on "Education"; Box 169 on "Farmers Educational Cooperative Union of America" (1944); Box 174 on "Equal Rights Amendment Education" (1944); Box 201 "Equal Rights Amendment; Education" (1945); Box 254 "Mississippi College" (1947); Box 309 "Religious Speeches [especially concerning Mississippi College]" (1956-1957); Box 312 has five folders on "Mississippi College" (1952-1962); and Box 315 holds "University of Mississippi" (1957) (316 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
J. D. Williams Family Collection. 1831-1902. Includes several documents related to Beech Grove School in Kentucky during the 1890s and 1900s (1 box).
John Sharp Williams Collection. 1862-1943. John Sharp Williams represented Mississippi in the U.S. Congress for twenty-nine years (U.S. House of Representatives, 1893-1908, U.S. Senate 1911-1922). The collection consists of research material accumulated by historian George Coleman Osborn while researching his biographies of both John Sharp Williams and James Kimble Vardaman. Thus, the files also contain a number of resources on Vardaman who served as Governor of Mississippi from 1904 to 1908 and U.S. Senator from 1913 to 1918. The collection includes Williams correspondence with university and college administrators and faculty from across the nation. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
