Library Guides: Philosophy: Databases and Websites

Subject Guide

Christina Torbert

Email Me

Contact:

J.D. Williams Library
Room 221C

662-915-7059

Subjects: Ethics, Gender and Women's Studies

Main Library Chat

Purpose

This page is intended as a starting point for the novice researcher who is seeking high quality information related to PHILOSOPHY.

If you need more specific or in-depth advice, or if you have some questions about this guide, and you are faculty, staff or a student, contact Ask-A-Librarian.

Search for Articles

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Index of journal literature on the subject of philosophy, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.

Philosophy websites

Intelex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
InteLex Corporation's Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The library owns titles from the following collections: Conway: Writings and Letters; Ferguson: Correspondence; Continental Rationalists: Descartes, Leibniz, and Spinoza; Berkeley: Works; Bluestocking Feminism; and British Philosophy: 1600-1900.

Philosophy Compass
Contains peer-reviewed, state-of-the art survey articles on current research from across the discipline. Articles also provide reference-linked bibliographies to specialist literature. Access restrictions may apply.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. They monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy professors from many different locations edit and maintain this online encyclopedia. The entries are signed and they are written by philosophy PhD students or professors. This resource is a great way to become familiar with a new philosophical topic.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford invites the top people in each field of philosophy to write entries for this encyclopedia. The search engine is a bit strange so it is best to simply browse topics in the alphabetical list.
Perseus Project
This website has online, searchable versions of all major classical texts in translation and in the original languages.

Search Guides

Philosophy

Subject Guide

Main Library Chat

Purpose

Search for Articles

Philosophy websites