This is the "Finding Articles and Books" page of the "Rap Music and Hip Hop Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Mississippi Libraries Subject and Course Guides Header

Rap Music and Hip Hop Culture  

Resources and recommendations for conducting research on rap music and hip hop culture, concentrating on the history and origins of rap music.
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/content.php?pid=479178 Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Articles in Databases

Suggested keywords: rap music, hip hop music, history, criticism, interpretation, African-American, music and race. Try searching by the name of the artist, as well.

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
      Icon
    A large general database with a variety of scholarly and popular sources.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
      Icon
    Large database of articles on music, art, literature, and philosophy.
  • International Index to Music Periodicals  
      
      Icon
    A database targeted at classical and popular music journals and magazines. Scholarly journals such as Popular Music and Society and Popular Music are indexed here. Popular magazines that cover the rap music scene such as Source: The Magazine of Hip Hop Music, Culture, and Politics, Spin, Rolling stone, and Vibe are indexed here.
 

Sample Articles

A special issue of the Journal of African American History in the Summer of 2005 covered the history and influence of rap music.

 

Books on Rap and Hip-Hop History in our library

Use the catalog to search for other books about rap and hip-hop using keywords such as rap music, hip hop music, influence, social aspects, African-American, popular music.

  • Rap: The Movement (a quick history appropriate for background reading, available online)
  • Black Noise by Tricia Rose (one of the best sources for the history of rap, available online)

Can't Stop, Won't Stop: A History of the Hip-Hop Generation (Available in Special Collection on 3rd floor; non-circulating. You must read it in Special Collections or copy the pages needed).

Hip Hop America (available in Special Collections)

Let the World Listen Right: The Mississippi Delta Hip Hop Story

Spectacular Vernaculars: Hip-Hop and the Politics of Postmodernism (includes historical information)

Prophets of the Hood

That's the Joint!: The Hip-Hop Studies Reader (available in Special Collections)

And It Don't Stop: The Best American Hip-Hop Journalism of the Last 25 Years

Third Coast: OutKast, Timbaland, and How Hip Hop Became a Southern Thing

Is Hip-Hop Dead? The Past, Present, and Future of America's Most Wanted Music

 

Brief Information on Individual Artists

Click the titles below to find the call numbers for these print sources:

Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture

All Music Guide to Hip-Hop

Icons of Hip Hop: An Encyclopedia of the Movement, Music, and Culture (2 volumes; the first volume includes a timeline)

Librarian

Profile Image
Ryan Johnson
Contact Info
662-915-5877

P.O. Box 1848
J.D. Williams Library
University, MS 38677
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Greg Johnson
Contact Info
Address:
J.D. Williams Library, Room 319A
1 Library Loop
University, MS
38677

Telephone:
(662) 915-7753
Send Email
Subjects:
Music; Blues
 

Main Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

University of Mississippi Libraries Subject and Course Guides Footer
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip