Library Guides: Civil War (Archives): Home

Introduction

The Archives & Special Collections material identified in this subject guide focus primarily on the Civil War in Mississippi.

The subject guide's pages are organized in the following manner:

Civil War: Manuscript Collections

Civil War: Primary Source Publications Related to Mississippi. Includes published letters, diaries, and memoirs as well as compiled data on matters such as Confederate pensions and graves. Also covers material related to Confederate commemorative activities.

Civil War: Secondary Source Publications Related to Mississippi . Historical accounts and other studies, including biographies of Mississippians.

Related Materials

Digital Collections

Aldrich Collection

Civil War Archive is a digital collection which includes items from many of the physical holdings in the Archives & Special Collections.

Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection which includes minstrel tunes and other racially stereotyped popular songs from the 19th century through the early 20th century.

Other Library Resources

The library has created a searchable database on its Mississippi Newspaper holdings. Search by text, year, city, or county to find newspaper titles, time span in the library's possession, and a link to the catalog record.

For assistance with non-archival resources see the following guides from the main library: Resources on the American Civil War, U.S. Federal Documents & Resources, and Mississippi State Government.

Other Campus Resources

On campus, the Center for Civil War Research promotes an understanding of the Civil War.

Civil War (Archives): Home

Introduction

Related Materials

Librarian Contact

Departmental Information