Circulation & Access Services

 

Accessing Electronic Resources

 

Accessing Restricted Electronic Resources

 

Most of the electronic resources provided by the Library are purchased at a significant cost to the University and are covered by a usage license. To comply with provider licensing agreements, access to most e-resources is limited to current students and employees at the University of Mississippi. 

Members of the community who do not fall into one of the above categories may access many of our resources from the public computers within the library.

More in-depth information can be found on our Comprehensive Electronic Resource Access Information page.

 

Accessing Unrestricted Electronic Resources

 

Some of the electronic resources provided by the Library are not restricted so they are available from any computer anywhere. Examples of unrestricted resources are publicly available databases such as PubMed Central, Project Gutenburg and Science.Gov. Additionally, most of our archival Digital Collections are open to the public.

Please review the types of resources to see more access information.

 

Accessing Databases 

You can access databases from the database pages or any other place links or search boxes are made available.

Most of our databases are licensed but there are a few that are not. When you attempt to do a search in most of our databases, unless you are using one of the public computers available within the library, you will be asked to log in to the library to access library electronic resources. Log in with your Web ID. If you are on your own laptop or mobile device, you will also need to log in with your Web ID, even if you are in the library. Note that logging into the wireless network is different from logging into the library. 

If you have a problem accessing databases you believe you are entitled to use, please contact Circulation West. For more in-depth information see the "Using Databases" tab.

 

Accessing One Search

You can access "One Search from the library homepage or any other place links or search boxes are made available.

When you attempt to do a search in "One Search", unless you are using one of the public computers available within the library, you will be asked to log in to the library to access library electronic resources. Log in with your Web ID. If you are on your own laptop or mobile device, you will also need to log in with your Web ID, even if you are in the library. Note that logging into the wireless network is different from logging into the library. 

If you have a problem accessing "One Search" and you believe you are entitled to use it, please contact Circulation West.  For more in-depth information see the "Using One Search" tab.

 

eBooks 

When you attempt to open or download an eBook, unless you are using one of the public computers available within the library, you will be asked to log in to the library to access library electronic resources. Log in with your Web ID. If you are on your own laptop or mobile device, you will also need to log in with your Web ID, even if you are in the library. Note that logging into the wireless network is different from logging into the library. 

If you have a problem accessing an eBook you believe you are entitled to use, please contact Circulation West. 

eBooks can be a little bit complicated as we have several types. They can be used on different devices and they can possibly be in use by others. For more in-depth information see the "Using eBooks" tab.

 

eJournals

​You can access eJournals through the catalog, Journal Finder or the eJournals Portal or any other place links or search boxes are made available.​

When you attempt to access an eJournal, unless you are using one of the public computers available within the library, you will be asked to log in to the library to access library electronic resources. Log in with your Web ID. If you are on your own laptop or mobile device, you will also need to log in with your Web ID, even if you are in the library. Note that logging into the wireless network is different from logging into the library. 

If you have a problem accessing an eJournal you believe you are entitled to use, please contact Circulation West. 

eJournals can be a little bit complicated as the user interface presentation for any particular eJournal can be very different.  For more in-depth information see the "Using eJournals" tab.

 

Digital Collections

​You can access Digital Collections from the library homepage, Archives and Special Collections homepage, or any other place links are made available.​

Most Digital Collections are open to the public and can be accessed from any computer at any place or time. There are a few collections, however, that restrict streaming media to computers in the J.D. Williams Library. 

If you have a problem accessing a Digital Collection you believe you are entitled to use, please contact Archives and Special Collections. 

 

 

 

Electronic Resources Overview

 

The University of Mississippi Libraries provide access to several types of electronic resources for the university community and researchers.The electronic resources we offer include:

Databases

We have over 200 research databases. A database is a collection of organized information like journal articles, newspaper articles, data sets, images and so on. Academic Search Premier is an example of a database. For more in-depth information see the "Using Databases" tab.

One Search

Our "One Search" discovery service, by Ebsco, provides a simple, discoverable search experience by combining  the catalog with the search of most of our database, journals and digital collections. For more in-depth information see the "Using One Search" tab.

eBooks 

We have thousands of eBooks. eBooks are electronic versions of printed books available for viewing online. For more in-depth information see the "Using eBooks" tab.

eJournals

We have hundreds of eJournals. eJournals are electronic journals with articles available for viewing online. For more in-depth information see the "Using eJournals" tab.​

Digital Collections

A digital collection is an archival collection that has been digitized and placed online. For more in-depth information see the "Using Digital Collections" tab.

Access to electronic resources may vary by resource and your relationship to the University. Please see the Accessing Electronic Resources tab for more information on accessing a particular resource.

 

 

 

Using Library Databases

 

Basics

You can access databases from the database page or any other place links or search boxes are made available.

A database is a collection of organized information. Academic Search Premier is an example of a database. The UM Libraries provide access to many databases, some full-text and others bibliographic. Full-text databases contain complete works whereas bibliographic databases contain citations and/or abstracts.  

 

Choosing which databases to search

If you are looking for articles on general topics, you may want to use general databases like Academic Search PremierLexisNexis Academic, or JSTOR. If you want to search subject specific database, then take a look at the subject listing on the database page.

If you already have a citation, try Citation Linker to quickly determine if we have access to a particular item.

 

Printing and saving articles from databases

Many databases provide the option to print within the database; just look for the print icon. Using the in-database option will save you from printing unwanted and redundant pages. If there is no print option within the database, you can also use the print options available for your Internet browser.

Many databases also allow you to save articles. However, some databases may place restrictions on the number of articles you can save at one time.

 

 

 

Using One Search

 

Basics

You can access databases from the "One Search" from the library homepage, or any other place links or search boxes are made available.

One Search is a discovery service which combines the library catalog with most of our database content, plus other library content to give you a more simple yet complete search experience. 

 

Filtering your search results

Your can filter your search results by checking off categories on the left sidebar of your search results screen. For example, you can limit by date or date range, specific subject or material type.

 

Accessing content shown in "One Search"

When you find a result you would like to see, take a look at your presentation options. If it say's "Full Text HTML" or "PDF", you can just click on those and access the item right away. You will also see a "Find It" button. Use that if the item is not available in Full Text HTML or PDF.

"Find It" will help you locate the item. If it we have it in more than one format, links will be shown to other formats or you may be taken to a publisher site. If we don't have the item here, you will be offered the opportunity to have it sent by Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

 

Using eBooks

 

Basics

Current students, employees, and adjunct teachers at the University of Mississippi have access to thousands of eBooks. Collections to which the UM Libraries currently subscribe include:

Finding a specific ebook

You can use the eBook Search option in the UM Libraries’ catalog. When you do a search in "One Search" or the library catalog, eBooks will be identified with the word "eBook" and an icon as shown here.

Accessing specific eBooks

The UM Libraries have a single user license for most eBooks, which means that they can be viewed or downloaded by only one person at a time. You do have the option of being notified when the eBook becomes available for use. You can request an upgrade to a multiple user license through your Subject Librarian. However, not all titles are available for upgrade.

 

 

 

Using eJournals

 

Basics

You can use the eJournals Portal to search for or browse e-journals by title or subject.  Or from the home page, use "Journal Finder" to search the online catalog.  Look for the eJournal entries.  Links within the record will show you what dates are available.

Accessing specific eJournals

The way you access a specific eJournal can be unique to the eJournal. This is highly confusing to many library users, but it is easy to navigate when you better understand what you are seeing. Some eJournals may be presented through a database search platform, others may go to a publisher site. They all have one thing is common, they will all present you with a table of contents showing the current issue, volumes and years. 

If an eJournal asks you to pay, you either somehow arrived at the eJournal without logging into your Library account or you are attempting access issues we do not subscribe to. Make sure you are logged in. See the Accessing Electronic Resources tab for more information.  Request those items we don't subscribe to through Interlibrary Loan to avoid paying!

 

 

 

 

Using Digital Collections

 

Basics

You can use Digital Collections to search for archival primary source materials. Materials are arranged by "Collections" which can all be viewed from the Digital Collections homepage.

Finding and using items in a collection

There is an advanced search feature at the top of the page, it can search all collections or specific collections. Digital Collections can also be searched using "One Search."

 

 

 

Known Issues

 

Known Issues are problems that we are aware of. If you would like more information about any issue, please contact Ask A Librarian. If you find a problem that is not listed here, please use Report a Problem at helpdesk@lib.olemiss.edu to let us know.


Emerald link resolver failure

As a result of Emerald moving their content to a new platform, article-level direct links for their titles are failing. The error is on the Emerald side and they are working with EBSCO to update the URL's. There is not a set time frame for this issue to be resolved. In the meantime if a user has clicked the "Linked Full Text" and gotten the "Page not found" error on the Emerald website, they will need to perform an advanced search in order to find the information they need until this issue is resolved.

Last updated on: Friday, November 14, 2014 - 12:04pm


Limited availability of full text PDFs due to privacy issues at ERIC.

Some articles are not available in ERIC due to privacy concerns. Please see ERIC's response for articles marked “PDF Release Pending”:

“PDF Release Pending” means that we are unable to release that document electronically at this time due to concerns about personally identifiable information in some of our older, non-peer reviewed documents. We are currently analyzing each document and are returning documents to ERIC on an ongoing basis. We expect this project to be complete in July 2014. In the meantime, the articles may be able to be retrieved through interlibrary loan and via microfiche.

Workarounds: If you need your article immediately, please submit an ILL request: http://hermes.lib.olemiss.edu/illiad/Logon.html

Last updated on: Monday, June 30, 2014 - 9:22am


ScienceDirect

May not work with some mobile devices.

Browser compatibility - 

ScienceDirect® is fully compatible with the following browsers running on  Microsoft® Windows operating systems:

    Microsoft® Internet Explorer® version 8.x, 9.x, 10.x and 11.x

We also strive to fully support the latest full versions of Mozilla® Firefox® and Google Chrome™ on Microsoft Windows. The following versions were tested for the most recent ScienceDirect release:

    Firefox version 28.x
    Chrome version 34.x

ScienceDirect is only fully tested on these browsers running on Microsoft Windows operating systems. Therefore, we can only guarantee full functionality to customers running these browsers on a Microsoft Windows operating system.

Other browsers and operating systems may also be able to access full ScienceDirect functionality; however, ScienceDirect E-Helpdesk cannot provide expert advice or technical support to solve problems you may encounter when using these systems.

Last updated on: Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 4:09pm


MathSciNet

Linking out from PDF views will not work.

Last updated on: Tuesday, July 28, 2015 - 3:33pm

 

 

Loading ...