Digital Accounting Collections

Statements of Position

AICPA Statements of Position (SOPs), available full-text at the links below from the University of Mississippi's Library Digital Collections with the permission of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), were issued by the AICPA's Accounting Standards Division from 1974 to 2013. The SOPs were meant to influence the development of accounting standards and to propose revisions to the AICPA's Audit and Accounting Guide (AAGs) series.

Those SOPs dealing with accounting standards have been superseded by the FASB's Accounting Standards Codification.

Audit and Attest SOPs were issued to revise or supplement the AICPA's Audit and Accounting Guides, provide implementation guidance for specific types of audit and attest engagements, and guidance in specialized areas of audit and attest. These SOPs have the same authority as the AAGs.

The full-text in the list below links to reproductions of SOPs as originally issued. Revisions, deletions, and status changes are recorded in the annual AICPA publication Technical Practice Aids which began in 1977.

No.Official titleIssued on
74-1 Contingencies arising from energy shortages full-text 1974 January 24
74-1 Accounting for research and development and similar costs full-text 1974 February 28
74-2 Disclosure in annual stockholder reports; comments on Securities Exchange Act release no. 10591 full-text 1974 March 7
74-3 Reporting the effects of general price-level changes in financial statements full-text 1974 April 5
74-4 Accounting for future losses full-text 1974 April 25
74-5 Accounting for foreign currency translation, May 17, 1974 full-text 1974 April 25
74-6 Recognition of profit on sales of receivables with recourse full-text 1974 June 14
74-8 Financial accounting and reporting by colleges and universities 1974 August 31
74-9 Conceptual framework for accounting and reporting full-text 1974 August 31
74-10 Accounting for leases full-text 1974 October 11
74-11 Financial accounting and reporting by face-amount certificate companies full-text 1974 December 10
74-12 Accounting practices in the mortgage banking industry full-text 1974 December 30
75-1 Revenue recognition when right of return exists 1975
75-2 Accounting practices of real estate investment trusts full-text 1975 June 27
75-3 Accrual of revenues and expenditures by state and local governmental units full-text 1975 July 31
75-4 Presentation and disclosure of financial forecasts full-text 1975 August
75-5 Accounting practices in the broadcasting industry full-text 1975 December 29
75-6 Questions concerning profit recognition on sales of real estate full-text 1975 December 29
76-1 Accounting practices in the record and music industry full-text 1976 August 25
76-2 Accounting for origination costs and loan and commitment fees in the mortgage banking industry full-text 1976 August 25
76-3 Accounting practices for certain Employee Stock Ownership Plans full-text 1976 December 20
77-1 Financial accounting and reporting by investment companies, April 15, 1977 full-text 1977 April 15
77-2 Accounting for interfund transfers of state and local government units full-text 1977 September 1
78-1 Accounting by hospitals for certain marketable equity securities full-text 1978 May 1
78-2 Accounting practices of real estate investment trusts : proposal to Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend Statement of position 75-2 full-text 1978 May 12
78-3 Accounting for costs to sell and rent, and initial rental operations of, real estate projects full-text 1978 June 30
78-4 Application of the deposit, installment, and cost recovery methods in accounting for sales of real estate full-text 1978 June 30
78-5 Accounting for advance refundings of tax-exempt debt, June 30, 1978 full-text 1978 June 30
78-6 Accounting for property and liability insurance companies; proposal to the Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of fire and casualty insurance companies full-text 1978 July 28
78-7 Financial accounting and reporting by hospitals operated by a governmental unit, July 31, 1978; proposal to the Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of state and local governmental units full-text 1978 July 31
78-8 Accounting for product financing arrangements, Dec. 26, 1978 full-text 1978 December 26
78-9 Accounting for investments in real estate ventures, December 29, 1978 full-text 1978 December 29
78-10 Accounting principles and reporting practices for certain nonprofit organizations full-text 1978 December 31
79-1 Accounting for municipal bond funds; proposal to the Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of investment companies full-text 1979 January 15
79-2 Accounting by cable television companies full-text 1979 March 12
79-3 Accounting for investments of stock life insurance companies; proposal to the Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend AICPA industry audit guide: Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text 1979 March 23
79-4 Accounting for motion picture films; proposal to the Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend AICPA industry accounting guide Accounting for motion picture films full-text 1979 March 26
80-1 Accounting for title insurance companies full-text 1980 January 31
80-2 Accounting and financial reporting by governmental units; amendment to AICPA Industry audit guide, Audits of state and local governmental units full-text 1980 June 30
80-3 Accounting for real estate acquisition, development, and construction costs full-text 1980 December 22
81-1 Accounting for performance of construction-type and certain production-type contracts full-text 1981 July 15
81-2 Reporting practices concerning hospital-related organizations; August 1, 1981 : proposal to the Financial Accounting Standards Board to amend AICPA Industry audit guide, "Hospital audit guide." full-text 1981 August 1
82-1 Accounting and financial reporting for personal financial statements; an amendment to AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of personal financial statements full-text 1982 October 1
83-1 Reporting by banks of investment securities gains or losses, December 31, 1983; amendment to AICPA industry audit guide Audits of banks full-text 1983 December 31
85-1 Financial reporting by not-for-profit health care entities for tax-exempt debt and certain funds whose use is limited; amendment to AICPA industry audit guide, Hospital audit guide full-text 1985 January 1
85-2 Accounting for dollar repurchase, dollar reverse repurchase agreements by sellers-borrowers; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Savings and loan associations full-text 1985 January 1
85-3 Accounting by agricultural producers and agricultural cooperatives full-text 1985 April 30
86-1 Reporting repurchase-reverse repurchase agreements and mortgage-backed certificates by savings and loan associations; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Savings and loan associations full-text 1986 September 30
87-1 Accounting for asserted and unasserted medical malpractice claims of health care providers and related issues full-text 1987 March 16
87-2 Accounting for joint costs of informational materials and activities of not-for-profit organizations that include a fund-raising appeal full-text 1987 August 21
88-1 Accounting for developmental and preoperating costs, purchases, and exchanges of take-off and landing slots, and airframe modifications; September 30, 1988 amendment to AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of airlines full-text 1988 September 30
88-2 Illustrative auditor's reports on financial statements of employee benefit plans comporting with statement on auditing standards no. 58, reports on audited financial statements, December 15, 1988 full-text 1988 December 15
89-1 Reports on audited financial statements of brokers and dealers in securities; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide Audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text 1989 January
89-2 Reports on audited financial statements of investment companies : amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide Audits of investment companies full-text 1989 January
89-3 Questions concerning accountants' services on prospective financial statements full-text 1989 April 25
89-4 Reports on the internal control structure in audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text 1989 April 27
89-5 Financial accounting and reporting by providers of prepaid health care services full-text 1989 May 8
89-6 Auditor's reports in audits of state and local governmental units; August 11, 1989, amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide Audits of state and local governmental units full-text 1989 August 11
90-1 Accountants' services on prospective financial statements for internal use only and partial presentations full-text 1990 January 5
90-2 Report on the internal control structure in audits of futures commission merchants; February 12, 1990, amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text 1990 February 12
90-3 Definition of the term substantially the same for holders of debt instruments, as used in certain audit guides and a statement of position; February 13, 1990 amendment to AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of banks and AICPA audit and accounting guides Audits of brokers and dealers in securities and Savings and loan associations full-text 1990 February 13
90-4 Auditors' reports under U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Audit guide for mortgagors having HUD insured or Secretary held multifamily mortgages full-text 1990 February 23
90-5 Inquiries of representatives of financial institution regulatory agencies,August 31, 1990; amendment to AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of banks, AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of credit unions, and AICPA audit and accounting guide, Savings and loan associations full-text 1990 August 31
90-6 Directors' examinations of banks, September 17, 1990; amendment to AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of Banks full-text 1990 September 17
90-7 Financial reporting by entities in reorganization under the bankruptcy code full-text 1990 November 19
90-8 Financial accounting and reporting by continuing care retirement communities, November 28, 1990; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide Audits of providers of health care services full-text 1990 November 28
90-9 Auditor's consideration of the internal control structure used in administering federal financial assistance programs under the Single Audit Act, November 28, 1990; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of state and local governmental units, and supersession of SOP 89-6, example 26 full-text 1990 November 28
90-10 Reports on audited financial statements of property and liability insurance companies, November 30, 1990; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide Audits of property and liability insurance companies full-text 1990 November 30
90-10 Reports on audited financial statements of property and liability insurance companies, November 30, 1990; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide Audits of property and liability insurance companies full-text 1990 November 30
90-11 Disclosure of certain information by financial institutions about debt securities held as assets, November 30, 1990; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guides Audits of banks, Audits of credit unions, Audits of finance companies (including independent and captive financing activities of other companies), Audits of property and liability insurance companies, Savings and loan associations, and Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text 1990 November 30
91-1 Software revenue recognition full-text 1991 December 12
92-1 Accounting for real estate syndication income full-text 1992 February 6
92-2 Questions and answers on the term reasonably objective basis and other issues affecting prospective financial statements, February 10, 1992; amendment to AICPA Guide for prospective financial statements full-text 1992 February 10
92-3 Accounting for foreclosed assets full-text 1992 April 28
92-4 Auditing insurance entities' loss reserves, May 29, 1992; supplement to AICPA Audit and accounting guide, Audits of property and liability insurance companies full-text 1992 May 29
92-5 Accounting for foreign property and liability reinsurance, June 1, 1992; supplement to AICPA Audit and accounting guide : Audits of property and liability insurance companies full-text 1992 June 1
92-6 Accounting and reporting by health and welfare benefit plans, August 3, 1992; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audit of employee benefit plans full-text 1992 August 3
92-7 Audits of state and local governmental entities receiving federal financial assistance; supplement to AICPA Audit and accounting guide, Audits of state and local governmental units full-text 1992 September 23
92-8 Auditing property/casualty insurance entities' statutory financial statements; applying certain requirements of the NAIC annual statement instructions full-text 1992 October 26
92-9 Audits of not-for-profit organizations receiving federal awards; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guides, Audits of providers of health care services, Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations, Audits of colleges and universities, and Audits of certain nonprofit organizations full-text 1992 December 28
92-9 revision Audits of not-for-profit organizations receiving federal awards, with conforming changes as of December 18, 1995, resulting from the issuance of Government auditing standards: 1994 revision, and Statement on auditing standards no. 74, Compliance auditing considerations in audits of governmental entities and recipients of governmental financial assistance full-text 1995 December 18
93-1 Financial accounting and reporting for high-yield debt securities by investment companies, January 28, 1993; amendment to AICPA Audit and accounting guide, Audits of investment companies full-text 1993 January 28
93-2 Determination, disclosure, and financial statement presentation of income, capital gain, and return of capital distributions by investment companies, February 1, 1993; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of investment companies full-text 1993 February 1
93-3 Rescission of Accounting Principles Board statements full-text 1993 February 1
93-4 Foreign currency accounting and financial statement presentation for investment companies, April 22, 1993; amendment to AICPA Audit and accounting guide, Audits of investment companies full-text 1993 April 22
93-5 Reporting on required supplementary information accompanying compiled or reviewed financial statements of common interest realty associations, April 23, 1993; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Common interest realty associations full-text 1993 April 23
93-6 Employers' accounting for employee stock ownership plans 1993 November 22
93-7 Reporting on advertising costs full-text 1993 December 29
93-8 Auditor's consideration of regulatory risk-based capital for life insurance enterprises full-text 1993 December 29
94-1 Inquiries of state insurance regulators; amendment to AICPA Audit and accounting guide Audits of property and liability insurance companies and AICPA industry audit guide Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text 1994 April 20
94-2 Application of the requirements of accounting research bulletins, opinions of the Accounting Principles Board, and statements and interpretations of the Financial Accounting Standards Board to not-for-profit organizations full-text 1994

September 2

94-3 Reporting of related entities by not-for-profit organizations; amendment to AICPA industry audit guides, Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations and Audits of colleges and universities, AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of certain nonprofit organizations, and SOP 78-10, Accounting principles and reporting practices for certain nonprofit organizations full-text 1994 September 2
94-4 Reporting of investment contracts held by health and welfare benefit plans and defined-contribution pension plans, September 23, 1994; amendment to AICPA Audit and accounting guide, Audits of employee benefit plans, and SOP 92-6, Accounting and reporting by health and welfare benefit plans full-text 1994 September 23
94-5 Disclosures of certain matters in the financial statements of insurance enterprises full-text 1994 December 15
94-6 Disclosure of certain significant risks and uncertainties full-text 1994 December 30
95-1 Accounting for certain insurance activities of mutual life insurance enterprises full-text 1995 January 18
95-2 Financial reporting by nonpublic investment partnerships full-text 1995 May 19
95-3 Accounting for certain distribution costs of investment companies; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audit of investment companies full-text 1995 July 28
95-4 Letters for state insurance regulators to comply with the NAIC Model Audit Rule full-text 1995 November 3
95-5 Auditor's reporting on statutory financial statements of insurance enterprises; supersedes Statement of position 90-10, Reports on audited financial statements of property and liability insurance companies, and amends AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of property and liability insurance companies, and AICPA industry audit guide, Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text 1995 December 21
96-1 Environmental remediation liabilities, including auditing guidance 1996 October 10
97-1 Accounting by participating mortgage loan borrowers full-text 1997 May 9
97-2 Software revenue recognition full-text 1997 October 27
97-3 Accounting by insurance and other enterprises for insurance-related assessments full-text 1997 December 10
98-1 Accounting for the costs of computer software developed or obtained for internal use full-text 1998 March 4
98-2 Accounting for costs of activities of not-for-profit organizations and state and local governmental entities that include fund raising; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guides Health care organizations, Not-for-profit organizations, and Audits of state and local governmental units full-text 1998 March 11
98-3 Audits of states, local governments, and not-for-profit organizations receiving federal awards full-text 1998 March 17
98-4 Deferral of the effective date of a provision of SOP 97-2, Software revenue recognition full-text 1998 March 31
98-5 Reporting on the costs of start-up activities full-text 1998 April 3
98-6 Reporting on management's assessment pursuant to the life insurance ethical market conduct program of the Insurance Marketplace Standards Association full-text 1998 April 9
98-7 Deposit accounting : accounting for insurance and reinsurance contracts that do not transfer insurance risk full-text 1998 October 19
98-8 Engagements to perform year 2000 agreed-upon procedures attestation engagements pursuant to rule 17a-5 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, rule 17Ad-18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and advisories no. 17-98 and no. 40-98 of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission full-text 1998 November 16
98-9 Modification of SOP 97-2, Software revenue recognition, with respect to certain transactions full-text 1998 December 22
99-1 Guidance to practitioners in conducting and reporting on an agreed-upon procedures engagement to assist management in evaluating the effectiveness of its corporate compliance program full-text 1999 May 21
99-2 Accounting for and reporting of postretirement medical benefit (401(h)) features of defined benefit pension plans; amendment to the AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of employee benefit plans full-text 1999 July 28
99-3 Accounting for and reporting of certain defined contribution plan investments and other disclosure matters; amendment to the AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of employee benefit plans full-text 1999 September 15
00-1 Auditing health care third-party revenues and related receivables full-text 2000 March 10
00-2 Accounting by producers or distributors of films full-text 2000 June 12
00-3 Accounting by insurance enterprises for demutualizations and formations of mutual insurance holding companies and for certain long-duration participating contracts full-text 2000 December 15
01-1 Amendment to scope of Statement of position 95-2, Financial reporting by nonpublic investment partnerships, to include commodity pools full-text 2001 March 27
01-2 Accounting and reporting by health and welfare benefit plans; amendment to AICPA audit and accounting guide, Audits of employee benefit plans, and SOP 92-6, Accounting and reporting by health and welfare benefit plans full-text 2001 April 20
01-3 Performing agreed-upon procedures engagements that address internal control over derivative transactions by the New York State insurance law full-text 2001 June 15
01-4 Reporting pursuant to the Association for Investment Management and Research performance presentation standards full-text 2001 November 13
01-5 Amendments to specific AICPA pronouncements for changes related to the NAIC codification full-text 2001 December 14
01-6 Accounting by certain entities (including entities with trade receivables) that lend to or finance the activities of others full-text 2001 December 26
02-1 Performing agreed-upon procedures engagements that address annual claims prompt payment reports as required by the New Jersey Administrative Code full-text 2002 May 23
02-2 Accounting for derivative instruments and hedging activities by not-for-profit health care organizations, and clarification of the performance indicator full-text 2002 December 27
03-1 Accounting and reporting by insurance enterprises for certain nontraditional long-duration insurance contracts and for separate accounts 2003 July 7
03-2 Attest engagements on greenhouse gas emissions information 2003 September 22
03-3 Accounting for certain loans or debt securities acquired in a transfer 2003 December 12
03-4 Reporting financial highlights and schedule of investments by nonregistered investment partnerships : an amendment to the audit and accounting guide audits of investment companies and AICPA statement of position 95-2, financial reporting by nonpublic investment partnerships 2003 December 29
03-5 Financial highlights of separate accounts : an amendment to the audit and accounting guide audits of investment companies 2003 December 29
04-1 Auditing the statement of social insurance 2004 November 22
04-2 Accounting for real estate time-sharing transactions 2004 December 9
05-1 Accounting by insurance enterprises for deferred acquisition costs in connection with modifications or exchanges of insurance contracts 2005 September 19
06-1 Reporting pursuant to the Global Investment Performance Standards 2006 April 6
07-1 Clarification of the scope of the audit and accounting guide investment companies and accounting by parent companies and equity method investor for investments in investment companies 2007 June 11
09-1 Performing agreed-upon procedures engagements that address the completeness, accuracy, or consistency of XBRL-tagged data 2009 April
12-1 Reporting pursuant to the Global Investment Performance Standards 2012 October
13-1 Attest engagements on greenhouse gas emissions information 2013 April

Audit and Accounting Guides and Precursors - 1934-1993

Insert content for first tab here.
1934 Audits of corporate accounts full-text
1934 Audits of governmental bodies full-text
1950 Audits by certified public accountants full-text
1951 Audits of savings and loan associations by independent certified public accountants full-text
1959 Generally accepted accounting principles for contractors full-text
1962 Audits by certified public accountants full-text
1962 Audits of savings and loan associations full-text
1965 Audits of Construction contractors full-text
1966 Audits of fire and casualty insurance companies full-text
1967 Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations full-text
1968 Audits of banks full-text
1968 Audits of personal financial statements full-text
1969 Audits of banks full-text
1969 Medicare audit guide full-text
1972 Audits of employee health and welfare benefit funds full-text
1972 Hospital audit guide full-text
1972 Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text
1973 Audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text
1973 Audits of colleges and universities full-text
1973 Audits of finance companies full-text
1973 Accounting for Franchise fee revenue full-text
1973 Accounting for motion picture films full-text
1973 Accounting for retail land sales full-text
1973 Accounting for profit recognition on sales of real estate full-text
1973 Audits of savings and loan associations full-text
1974 Audits of service-center-produced records full-text
1974 Audits of state and local governmental units full-text
1974 Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations full-text
1975 Audits of colleges and universities full-text
1975 Audits of government contractors full-text
1975 Audits of savings and loan associations full-text
1975 Audits of state and local governmental units full-text
1977 Audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text
1977 Audits of fire and casualty insurance companies full-text
1977 Auditor's study and evaluation of internal control in EDP systems full-text
1977 Audits of investment companies full-text
1978 Hospital audit guide full-text
1978 Audits of state and local governmental units full-text
1978 Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text
1979 Computer-assisted audit techniques full-text
1979 Audits of fire and casualty insurance companies full-text
1979 Audits of investment companies full-text
1979 Accounting for motion picture films full-text
1979 Accounting for profit recognition on sales of real estate full-text
1979 Savings and loan associations full-text
1979 Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text
1980 Hospital audit guide full-text
1980 Guide for a review of a financial forecast full-text
1980 Audits of service-center-produced records full-text
1981 Audits of airlines full-text
1981 Construction contractors full-text
1981 Audits of certain nonprofit organizations full-text
1981 Audits of state and local governmental units full-text
1982 Audits of fire and casualty insurance companies full-text
1982 Hospital audit guide full-text
1982 Guide for a review of a financial forecast full-text
1983 Audit sampling full-text
1983 Audits of banks full-text
1983 Audits of employee benefit plans full-text
1983 Audits of government contractors full-text
1983 Personal financial statements guide full-text
1983 Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text
1984 Audits of banks full-text
1984 Audits of casinos full-text
1985 Audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text
1985 Hospital audit guide full-text
1985 Savings and loan associations full-text
1985 Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text
1986 Audits of credit unions full-text
1986 Audits of entities with oil and gas producing activities full-text
1986 Guide for prospective financial statements full-text
1986 Savings and loan associations full-text
1986 Audits of state and local governmental units full-text
1987 Audits of agricultural producers and agricultural cooperatives full-text
1987 Hospital audit guide full-text
1987 Audits of investment companies full-text
1987 Guide for the use of real estate appraisal information full-text
1987 Savings and loan associations full-text
1987 Audits of service-center-produced records full-text
1988 Audits of airlines full-text
1988 Audits of finance companies (including independent and captive financing activities of other companies) full-text
1988 Audits of certain nonprofit organizations full-text
1988 Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations full-text
1989 Audits of brokers and dealers in securities full-text
1989 Audits of employee benefit plans full-text
1989 Audits of state and local governmental units full-text
1990 Audits of banks, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Consideration of internal control in a financial statement audit full-text
1990 Audits of Construction contractors as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Audits of federal government contractors, with conforming changes as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Audits of providers of health care services full-text
1990 Audits of providers of health care services, second edition full-text
1990 Audits of providers of health care services, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Audits of investment companies, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Audits of certain nonprofit organizations, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Personal financial statements guide, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Audits of property and liability insurance companies full-text
1990 Audits of property and liability insurance companies, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Guide for the use of real estate appraisal information, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1990 Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations, as of December 31, 1990 full-text
1991 Audits of common interest realty associations as of August 31, 1991 full-text
1991 Audits of employee benefit plans, as of March 31, 1991 full-text
1991 Guide for the use of real estate appraisal information full-text
1991 Audits of savings institutions, as of December 31, 1991 full-text
1991 Audits of stock life insurance companies full-text
1992 Audits of agricultural producers and agricultural cooperatives with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of airlines, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audit sampling full-text
1992 Audits of banks, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of brokers and dealers in securities, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of casinos, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of colleges and universities, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Common interest realty associations, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Construction contractors, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of credit unions, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of credit unions, with conforming changes as of December 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of employee benefit plans, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of entities with oil and gas producing activities, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of federal government contractors, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of finance companies (including independent and captive financing activities of other companies), with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of providers of health care services, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of investment companies, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of certain nonprofit organizations, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Personal financial statements guide full-text
1992 Audits of property and liability insurance companies, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Guide for prospective financial statements full-text
1992 Guide for prospective financial statements full-text
1992 Audits of savings institutions, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of state and local governmental units, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of stock life insurance companies, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1992 Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1992 full-text
1993 Audits of agricultural producers and agricultural cooperatives with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of airlines, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of banks, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of brokers and dealers in securities, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of casinos, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of colleges and universities, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Common interest realty associations, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Construction contractors, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of employee benefit plans, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of entities with oil and gas producing activities, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of federal government contractors, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of finance companies (including independent and captive financing activities of other companies), with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of providers of health care services, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of investment companies, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of certain nonprofit organizations, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of property and liability insurance companies, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Guide for prospective financial information full-text
1993 Audits of savings institutions, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of state and local governmental units, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of stock life insurance companies, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text
1993 Audits of voluntary health and welfare organizations, with conforming changes as of May 1, 1993 full-text

Audit and Accounting Guides 1994-2002

Insert content for first tab here.
Insert content for second tab here.

Isues Papers

The following list of AICPA Issues Papers have been compiled using the holdings of the University of Mississippi Libraries and the 2008 Technical Practice Aids section entitled "Issues papers of the Accounting Standards Division." Issues Papers were originally intended to be an evenhanded discussion of topics that needed to be "addressed or clarified by the Financial Accounting Standards Board." Issues Papers were the vehicle the AICPA's Accounting Standards Executive Committee (AcSEC) used to present emerging practice problems to the FASB and accounting practitioners. Issues Papers generally followed a standard format: (1) background, (2) analysis of current practice, (3) review of the literature, (4) statement of issues needing resolution, and (5) advisory conclusions.

While Issues Papers were never enforceable standards, they became recognized (prior to the creation of the FASB Codification in 2009) as the fifth or lowest level in the GAAP Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (United States) hierarchy of standards  Issues Papers often offered guidance in areas too narrow for FASB's attention or when guidance was required in a more timely fashion than permitted by the formulation and issuance of a FASB statement.Issues. Papers then gained a level of authority as practitioners followed their guidance and different agencies accepted their recommendations. The U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) declared the 1984 Issues Paper, "Identification and Discussion of Certain financial Accounting and Reporting Issues Concerning LIFO Inventories," as authoritative in 1985.  The method of handling stock transaction in the 1980 Issues Paper, Accounting in Consolidation for Issuances of a Subsidiary Stock, was also accepted in 1983 by the SEC as acceptable practice. The 1986 Issues Paper, Accounting for Options, provided the "first definitive professional opinion on how to account for options.

.
Issue DateOfficial titleStatus
1978 December 12 Accounting for Termination Indemnities full-text Superseded by FASB Statement 88
1978 December 15 Accounting for Changes in Estimates full-text
1978 December 20 Accounting for Involuntary Conversions full-text Superseded by FASB Interpretation 30
1978 December 20 Uncertainties full-text
1978 December 27 Reporting finance subsidiaries in consolidated financial statements full-text
1979 January 11 Accounting for Time Paid but Not Worked full-text Superseded by FASB Statement 43
1979 January 15 Meaning of "In Substance a Repossession or Foreclosure" and Accounting for Partial Refinancing of Troubled Real Estate Loans Under FASB Statement No. 15 full-text Superseded by AICPA Practice Bulletin No. 7
1979 February 26 Personal Financial Statements full-text Superseded by AICPA Personal Financial Statements Guide
1979 February 26 Project Financing Arrangements full-text Superseded by FASB Statement No. 47
1979 April 27 Real Estate ADC Costs Superseded by FASB Statement No. 66
1979 June 21 Accounting for Allowances for Losses on Certain Real Estate and Loans and Receivables Collateralized by Real Estate full-text
1979 July 17 Joint Venture Accounting full-text
1979 August 7 Accounting for Repurchase, Reverse Repurchase, Dollar Repurchase, and Dollar Reverse Repurchase Agreements for Savings and Loans full-text incorporated into Audits of Savings Institutions
1979 October 8 Accounting by Investors for Distributions Received in Excess of Their Investment in a Joint Venture full-text
1979 October 15 Accounting for bulk purchases of mortgages between mortgage bankers full-text
1979 October 16 Accounting for Grants Received from Governments full-text superseded by IASC International Accounting Standard No. 20
1979 October 30 "Push Down" Accounting full-text
1980 January 8 Mortgage Guaranty Insurance full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 60
1980 February 5 Accounting for Vested Pension Benefits Existing or Arising when a Plant is Closed or a Business Segment is Discontinued full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 87
1980 March 20 Transfers of Receivables with Recourse full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 77
1980 June 20 Accounting by Lease Brokers full-text superseded by FASB Technical Bulletin 86-2
1980 June 30 Accounting in Consolidation for Issuances of a Subsidiary Stock full-text
1980 July 15 Accounting for the Inability to Fully Recover the Carrying Amounts of Long Lived Assets full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 121
1980 August 13 Intangibles in the Motor Carrier Industry full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 44
1980 December 10 Related Party Transactions superseded by FASB Statement No. 57
1980 December 16 Accounting for Forward Placement and Standby Commitments and Interest Rate Futures Contracts full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 80
1981 March 17 Accounting and reporting by health and welfare benefit plans full-text
1981 March 17 Accounting and reporting by defined contribution plans full-text
1981 March 17 Certain Issues That Affect Accounting for Minority Interest in Consolidated financial Statements full-text
1981 April 10 Sales of Timesharing Interests in Real Estate full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 67
1981 June 25 Accounting for Installment Lending Activities of Finance Companies full-text incorporated in Audits of Finance Companies
1981 July 13 Accounting by Agricultural Producers and Agricultural Cooperatives full-text superseded by SOP 85-3
1981 July 16 Accounting for Joint Costs of Multipurpose Informational Materials and Activities of Nonprofit Organizations full-text superseded by SOP 87-2
1981 August 3 Accounting for Bulk Purchases of Mortgages full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 65
1981 November 16 Depreciation of Income Producing Real Estate full-text
1982 August 13 Accounting for Medical Malpractice Loss Contingencies (Asserted and Unasserted Claims) and Related Issues of Health Care Providers superseded by SOP 87-1
1982 October 14 Acceptability of "Simplified LIFO" for Financial Reporting Purposes full-text
1982 November 1 Financial Reporting by Health Care Entities of the Proceeds of Tax Exempt Bonds and Funds Limited as to Use incorporated in Audits of Providers of Health Care Services
1982 November 4 Accounting for Employee Capital Accumulation Plans full-text
1983 September 20 Accounting for Nonrefundable Fees of Originating or Acquiring Loans and Acquisition Costs of Loan and Insurance Activities full-text superseded by FASB Statement No. 91
1984 February 17 Accounting for costs of Software for Sale or Lease superseded by FASB Statement No. 86
1984 March 26 Computation of Premium Deficiencies in Insurance Enterprises full-text
1984 July 12 Accounting for Income Taxes of Stock Life Insurance Companies full-text superseded by FASB Technical Bulletin No. 84-3
1984 October 15 Application of concepts in FASB statement of financial accounting standards no. 71 to emerging issues in the public utility industry full-text
1984 October 31 Accounting for Key Person Life Insurance full-text superseded by FASB Technical Bulletin No. 85-4
1984 November 5 Accounting by Stock Life Insurance Companies for Annuities, Universal Life, and related Products and Accounting for Nonguaranteed-Premium Products full-text
1984 November 30 Identification and Discussion of Certain financial Accounting and Reporting Issues Concerning LIFO Inventories full-text
1985 January 16 Accounting for Loss Portfolio Transfers-Letter
1985 June 28 Accounting by Health and Maintenance Organizations and Associated Entitiesfull-text Superseded by SOP 89-5
1985 December 11 Accounting for: no load mutual fund distribution fees full-text
1986 February 14 Accounting for Estimated Credit Losses on Loan Portfolios full-text incorporated in Audits of finance Companies
1986 March 6 Accounting for Options full-text
1987 April 21 Software Revenue Recognition full-text superseded by SOP 91-1
1987 September 9 Use of Discounting in Financial Reporting for Monetary Items with Uncertain Terms Other than Those Covered by Existing Authoritative Literature full-text
1988 October 28 Quasi Reorganizations full-text