Library Guides: HST 454: Women in Southern History: Home

Chat

Email Me

Contact:

662-915-7933

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

UM Digital Archival Collections
Digitized material from the UM Libraries Archives & Special Collections available online.
Gender Studies Collections
Collections in the University Archives & Special Collections relating to women and gender relations in Mississippi and the South

Documenting the American South
Includes diaries, oral histories, slave narratives, and many other materials by and about women in the South.

NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. Includes many documents by and about women involved in the Civil Rights movement.

Digital Public Library of America
DPLA brings together the collections of libraries, archives, and museums from across the country into one searchable portal.
Library of Congress
Lots of digitized archival material, including slave narratives and papers by and about women.
Makin' Do
Produced by the Department of History and the Media and Documentary Projects Center at the University of Mississippi. This oral history-based film was produced by history graduate students and documents the experiences of women in Northeast Mississippi who “Made Do” over the course of the 20th century.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Search the library catalog for published diaries and memoirs by Southern women or for secondary sources about women in the South.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on formatting research papers and citations in the Chicago style.

Citing Primary Sources
A resource created by the Library of Congress that provides guidance and examples on citing primary sources in Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.
Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Research and citation resources

Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0 license logo

All original content on this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please attribute as: "Content from University of Mississippi Libraries."