Library Guides: AAS 325 / HST 414: African American History to 1865: Home

Library Catalog

The library has many primary sources and primary source collections. To find primary sources, try searching for your topic plus possible types of sources, such as "documents", "diary", "speeches", "sermons", "letters", "papers", and more.

For example, you could search for "slaves AND 'revolutionary war' AND papers" (make sure to separate your keywords with operators like AND or OR).

Primary Sources

University Archives & Special Collections
- Special Collections contains many documents relating to African American history, some of which are available online.

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society's holdings of slavery and abolition materials contains works published over the course of more than 100 years. Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 This link opens in a new window
Features works published between 1860 and 1922 addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. Includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.

Digital Public Library of America
DPLA brings together the collections of libraries, archives, and museums from across the country into one searchable portal.
Umbra Search
Brings together items relating to African American history from more than 1000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.
Library of Congress African American History Digital Collections
- Digitzed collections of papers held by the Library of Congress. Includes the Frederick Douglass Papers, Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860, and Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories, and more.

Slavery and the Law This link opens in a new window
Features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867 as well as the State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.

Digital Library on American Slavery
- The University of North Carolina at Greensboro offers this database of abstracts of about 3,000 petitions to courts and legislatures in the antebellum South, portraying slave/owner relations. interracial sex, free blacks, the black family, and racial attitudes
Antislavery Pamphlet Collection, 1725-1911
- The Antislavery Collection contains several hundred printed pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911. The holdings include speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts.

Early American Newspapers, Series 6 This link opens in a new window
Searches more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century American newspapers.

Secondary Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With a singular focus on relationship between and among races, this resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.

Librarian

Adam Clemons

Email Me

Contact:

662-915-7933

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Chat

WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books or journal articles that the UM Libraries does not have access to.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>