Library Guides: Alumni Services at the University of Mississippi Libraries: Mississippi History

Historical Mississippi Newspapers
This collection represents Um Libraries holdings of Mississippi newspapers on microfilm, microform or any other micro format. Newspaper coverage begins in 1805.

Mississippi State Government
This guide contains resources related to the Mississippi state government including: the executive branch, legislature, judiciary, and primary sources.
Politics and Government: Mississippi
This subject guide outlines resources on the subjects of politics and government. Most of the material relates directly to the Magnolia State. However, several of the manuscript collections also have national and international dimensions. Material dates from the eighteenth century to the present.

Although the State Depository Program wasn’t legislated until 1966, the state documents collection at UM Libraries includes significant historical Mississippi documents from the nineteenth century such as Department Reports, the Laws, and Senate and House Journals. The entire state documents collection is cataloged and searchable in the library’s online catalog.

Mississippi as Province & Territory
The contents of this subject guide offer insight into Mississippi between 1699 and 1798 as a colonial possession of France, Great Britain, and Spain and as a territory of the United States between 1798 and 1817.
Antebellum Mississippi
This guide contains resources related to Mississippi's antebellum period (defined as from 1817 to 1861 for the purposes of this guide).
Reconstruction in Mississippi
Resources in this guide relate to the Reconstruction era in Mississippi between 1865 and 1877.
Civil Rights & Race Relations in Mississippi
This subject guide consists of material on civil rights and race relations along with links to more detailed collection finding aids including: primary source publications on Mississippi and secondary source publications on Mississippi.
Secret Societies & Fraternal Organizations: Related to Mississippi
This guide contains resources related to Secret Societies & Fraternal Organization related to Mississippi.
Subject Guides from Archives & Special Collections
This link provides a list of all subject guides from the department of Archives & Special Collections.

Search Guides

Alumni Services at the University of Mississippi Libraries