Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps Diversity
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Archives Reference Services Distance Services
Print, Copy, Scan IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 
Skip to Main Content

1927 Mississippi River Flood (Archives): Music Resources

The Mississippi Flood Song.

 

circa 1927. Sheet Music Collection.

Music Resources

Musicians reacted to the 1927 Mississippi River flood by referencing it in their compositions.  The following list includes sheet music, LPs, CDs, DVDs, and publications available in the Archives & Special Collections.

Big Bill Broonzy.  Big Bill's Blues.  New York: Epic, 1968.  LP record which includes "Southern Flood Blues."  Call Number:  Epic EE22017.

Vernon Dalhart.  The Wreck of the Old 97 and Other Early Country Hits.  Brighton, Michigan:  Old Homestead, 1985.  LP record which includes the song "The Mississippi Flood."  Call Number:  Old Homestead OHCS 167.

Joe Hoover's Mississippi Flood Song.  Words and music by Joe Hoover.  New York: Max Kortlander, 1927.  Sheet music.  Call Number:  M1658 M6 H6 1927.

In the Spirit of No. 2.  Berkeley, CA:  Origin Jazz, 1968.  LP record which includes McIntorsh and Edwards' "The 1927 Flood."  Call Number:  Origin OJL-13.

The Mississippi Flood Song.  Words by Jed Hopkins, music by Sarah A. Westcott.  New York: Ager, Yellen & Bornstein, circa 1927.  Sheet music.  Location:  Sheet Music Collection.  Finding aid available online at http://purl.oclc.org/umarchives/MUM00409/. 

People Take Warning!:  Murder Ballads & Disaster Songs, 1913-1938.  Tompkins Square, 2007.  Compact disc which includes W.A. Lindsey and Alvin Condor's "The Flood of 1927."  Call Number:  Tompkins Square TSQ 1875 [Oversized CD location].

Robert Springer.  Nobody Knows Where the Blues Come From:  Lyrics and History.  Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2006.  Contains David Evans' essay "High Water Everywhere:  Blues and Gospel Commentary on the 1927 Mississippi River Flood."  Call Number:  ML3521 N63 2006.

The Story of the Blues.  Produced and directed by Jordi Vall Escrui.  Canada:  Quantum Leap, 2004.  DVD recording which includes Bill Bill Broonzy's "The Flood."  Call Number:  ML3521 S86 2004.

Texas Seaport 1934-1937.  Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex: Magpie, 1978.  LP record includes Joe Pullum's "Mississippi Flood Blues."  Call Number:  Magpie PY 4408.

Muddy Waters.  Vintage Muddy Waters.  London:  Sunnyland, 1970.  LP record which includes "Flood."  Call Number:  Sunnyland KS-100.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 9am - 4pm (except holidays)